1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Need help quick

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tigersfan1, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. tigersfan1

    tigersfan1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    381
    11
    38
    Ok so I put Velocity 1.0 on my sd card. I reboot into recovery. I made a Nandroid backup. Wiped Data, and both caches and when I went to install Velocity 1.0 the zip wasnt there. but when i checked before it was there.

    WHAT DO I DO?
     

    Advertisement

  2. codala1810

    codala1810 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    37
    1
    16
    Restore your nandroid that u should have made. And mount the sd card, I know when I installed this rom it installed amonra recovery for me.
     
  3. tigersfan1

    tigersfan1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    381
    11
    38
    When I click restore nand it show something that says: mem=223M Should I click that and what do you mean by mount the sd card. Should I just reboot into recovery and try it again
     
  4. codala1810

    codala1810 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    37
    1
    16
    Yes your nandroid should be in mem 223, when I say mount your sd card I mean, restore your nandroid, download astro from market, and try to find the zip with astro, if you can't find the zip then. Try to download again. If I knew how, I would send you a zip. And lastly, did you use your ally to download the zip, or a comp?
     
  5. tigersfan1

    tigersfan1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    381
    11
    38
    I checked with astro that i had it before i flashed and stuff and i got it from my computer
     
  6. codala1810

    codala1810 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    37
    1
    16
    try putting it on your sd card again, the file size should be 108mb. If its not, then download the rom again. Or flash your backup and dowlnoad with your ally. That's how I flash roms, never failed once
     
  7. tigersfan1

    tigersfan1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    381
    11
    38
    Ok here is the wierd thing though I had two other zip files on my sd card and they didnt show up either
     
  8. Crash89

    Crash89 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    91
    19
    18
    NC
    Amonra will only show a certain number of files.

    Make a folder on your sd card, label it roms or something and put it in there. Folders show up first.

    You probably just have too many files.
     
    tigersfan1 likes this.
  9. tigersfan1

    tigersfan1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    381
    11
    38
    Ok thanks.
     
  10. codala1810

    codala1810 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    37
    1
    16
    That is exactly what I was getting ready to say. Beat me to it. Lol
     
  11. tigersfan1

    tigersfan1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    381
    11
    38
    Ok this might take a while. Cause if you remeber my first thread which was reboot into recovery blue screen. Im havin to keep pulling my battery and reflashing cause of blue screen
     
  12. codala1810

    codala1810 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    37
    1
    16
    Hold down, TALK+MENU+POWER. It should boot you past fastboot. At least, that's what I do
     
    tigersfan1 likes this.
  13. tigersfan1

    tigersfan1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    381
    11
    38
    got it to work

    THANK YOU: codala1810 & crash89 thanks again this is the second time you saved me
     
  14. codala1810

    codala1810 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    37
    1
    16
    No problem man. Glad you got it to work:)
     
  15. tigersfan1

    tigersfan1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    381
    11
    38
    Ya cant wait to overclock
     
  16. tigersfan1

    tigersfan1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    381
    11
    38
    When I started to overclock my ally to around 800 it just started to restart itself and restarting and restarting what should I do
     
  17. Crash89

    Crash89 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    91
    19
    18
    NC
    tigersfan1

    you did not use the guide to root froyo did you? If I remember correctly, you used the easy method? Correct me if I am wrong.


    I think that is the reason you have to keep flashing your recovery. There is a file that when you reboot, it reinstalls the stock recovery.

    The guide addresses this issue, and removes that file.
     
  18. Crash89

    Crash89 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    91
    19
    18
    NC

    Not all phones can handle that high of an overclock. Start at the bottom and work your way up.
     
  19. tigersfan1

    tigersfan1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    381
    11
    38
    Ok so does this mean my phone is screwed or what?
     
  20. codala1810

    codala1810 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    37
    1
    16
    Turn the frequency down, some phones can't handle the higher frequency,I keep mine at 787
     
  21. tigersfan1

    tigersfan1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    381
    11
    38
    Ok thanks I wasn't gettin enough time to get to it before it restarted. But I was able to get to it and slow it down
     
  22. Crash89

    Crash89 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    91
    19
    18
    NC

    No, just means you should use the guide. It tells you how to remove that file from the system so you dont have that problem.

    There is a reason that the GUIDE is the recommended method to root froyo, and why the devs are not offering support to the other method.
     
  23. tigersfan1

    tigersfan1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    381
    11
    38
    Is it possible for me to just take out that file or do I have to follow the whole guide
     
  24. Crash89

    Crash89 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    91
    19
    18
    NC

    Best bet is to follow the whole guide and do it right so you have fastboot, unless your phone shipped with ZV6.

    You need adb set up on your computer. Read the guide.
     
  25. tigersfan1

    tigersfan1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    381
    11
    38
    So I have read the whole guide before and I feel like I could easily mess my phone up. So what is the file that I would need to take out and what does it do
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...