1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Need help rooting Amazon Fire

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by names_are_useless, Jul 31, 2016.

  1. names_are_useless

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016

    Jul 31, 2016
    2
    0
    15
    So I recently got an Amazon Fire 7" Tablet during the Amazon Summer Sale (only $50!). After buying it, I didn't realize it came with the awful FireOS version of Android. I want Android on there, but I've found there's a lot of steps behind it.

    In order to do this, I'm told I need to root my Android and use the CyanogenMod. Well, I seem to be unable to root my tablet.

    Here is what I've done so far:
    1. I've been following the steps in this Youtube video:


    I've been able to follow this video up to 5:49 (I have open-gapps, cm-12.1 and SuperSU on an SD card on my fire tablet). Now the Amazon Fire Tablet Tool I have has different options then the one in the video:
    [​IMG]
    There is no TWRP option. According to this site, I need to have my Amazon Fire rooted. So next ...

    2. I go to option 6 to root my tablet. Now initially, my Tablet was v5.3.1, but after following this video, I've been able to downgrade Amazon to 5.1.2. And so I select 5.1.2 and have Kingroot installed on my tablet.

    3. Now that Kingroot is on the tablet, I've tried it several times ... and to no success. It keeps coming up with the message "try the desktop version." And so I've gone to install the desktop version ... which only a Chinese version seems to exist (Kingroot v3.2).

    4. So I have the tablet hooked up to my PC, and run the Kingroot application. It looks to recognize the tablet connected to the PC ... but after several tries, it will stop with a QR Code appearing:
    [​IMG]

    5. I've scanned the QR code with my tablet (I guess that's what Kingroot wants me to do?), and I get the following URL: http://weixin.qq.com/q/mnXlDiblNFtNkgiYUVu-

    Its a blank page, and my tablet still isn't rooted (FlashFire application, which the s-config site says I will need to run, needs root access in order to install CyanogenMod). If anyone here could help me, please do. Maybe just someone who can read Chinese ...
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,130
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,130
    3,052
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
  3. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,293
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,293
    23,649
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Thread moved to the Amazon Fire root area for you :).

    Cheers!
     
  4. names_are_useless

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016

    Jul 31, 2016
    2
    0
    15

Share This Page

Loading...