1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Need Help Running Stacks

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Warp3dM1nd, Aug 25, 2017.

  1. Warp3dM1nd

    Warp3dM1nd Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017

    Aug 25, 2017
    3
    0
    5
    Long story short was given this old lap top.

    Specs Toshiba Intel Celeron processor CPU 900 2.20ghz 2 GB of Ram Win7

    I cant run the latest version of stacks. It wont get past the loading engine part. Tried downloading a slightly older version and it got as far as initializing before it stopped. Its been initializing for 14 hrs now. Does any guru know which version i can actually get to run. Everytime I check the system its says its takin 100% of the cpu and ram and yet does nothing. I have a feeling win7 is the root nut maybe im wrong.
    BTW I completely wiped the computer then installed the windows gave to me. I only got this laptop to run stacks and do a few small other things. If any gurus could help me out or at least point me in the right direction i would gretly appreciate it. Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Warp3dM1nd

    Warp3dM1nd Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017

    Aug 25, 2017
    3
    0
    5
    still need help guys seriously any help would be appreciated.
     
  3. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,633
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,633
    14,600
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    "stacks", what's that, a Linux distro?
     
  4. Warp3dM1nd

    Warp3dM1nd Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017

    Aug 25, 2017
    3
    0
    5
    bluestacks
     
  5. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,633
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,633
    14,600
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Which runs under Windows, yes? I think the problem couid be your laptop's Celeron processor, I believe those don't support virtualization, specifically VT-x. Bluestacks is basically an Android virtual machine, and hardware virtualization support is required in the laptop's CPU to make it work.

    There's not a lot can do about it, apart from changing to a computer that does support VT-x. It might be worth checking in the laptop's BIOS, just to check if settings for VT-x are there or not.
     
  6. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    708
    Posts:
    4,222
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    4,222
    3,239
    708
    Illinois
    mikedt likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...