• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Need Help Understanding Internal & SD Card Storage

Trupod

Jan 12, 2012
I'm new to Android.

Until today I've been installing apps wherever they default to, and have been wondering why "Manage Applications" shows some of my downloaded applications as being "on SD card". It's dawned on me that the phone seems to have two separate internal storage areas, one of which is called "SD card" even tho' I had not yet added an SD card.

Today I installed a 64GB SANdisk external microSD card. I want to start moving applications to it. But I'm seeing things I don't understand:

The phone's "Settings-->Applications-->Manage Applications" shows:
Device Memory: .97GB used and 1.00GB free.
USB storage: 5.2GB used and 6.3GB free.

App2SD 1.0 shows:
On Phone: total=1.97GB and Avail=.95GB
On SD card: Total=11.5GB and Avail=6.29GB

App2SD+ 0.9.3 shows:
On Phone: 373MB/110apps and Free:976MB/1.97GB.
On SD card: same as App2SD results

Apps2SD doesn't show usage and capacity, just lists of apps that can or can't be moved.

Can someone please explain:

What are all the distinct storage pools in an Android (Sprint: Samsung Galaxy S2 Epic 4G Touch) phone? What is each for?

Why the apparent discrepancy between what's shown by "Manage Applications" and App2SD?

Where is the used/avail space on my 64GB card shown? And how to use it?

Thanks for your attention.

Reactions: mgtraveler51
I'm new to Android.

Until today I've been installing apps wherever they default to, and have been wondering why "Manage Applications" shows some of my downloaded applications as being "on SD card". It's dawned on me that the phone seems to have two separate internal storage areas, one of which is called "SD card" even tho' I had not yet added an SD card.

Today I installed a 64GB SANdisk external microSD card. I want to start moving applications to it. But I'm seeing things I don't understand: