1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Need help with an HTC EVO error message

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by driftindaddy, Jul 15, 2011.

  1. driftindaddy

    driftindaddy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Enumclaw, WA
    I have an HTC EVO and I installed an app call shootme for screen shots, works well on my EVO, however my friend just got an EVO and installed same app on his. When he went to use is this is the message he gets "**ROOT** Access enabled on your device and access lower level graphics" Can someone please help with an explanation of why this is happening.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    That app requires your phone to be rooted to use it, hence the error message.
     
  3. driftindaddy

    driftindaddy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Enumclaw, WA
    That doesn't make sense because I have never rooted my phone, at least if I think I understand what your saying. I have had my phone sense last October and my friend just got his, his isn't the 3D new one. If you can clarify how my phone is rooted, which I don't know how to do or never done. Help would be much appreciated as I am not a tech guy.
     
  4. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX
    Did you update the evo to gingerbread 2.3? My cousins updated their evos now one can use the shoot app and the other gets the root message. So I guess after the update the screen shot apps might work without rooting whereas before the update on a 2.2 evo it definitely worked without rooting (well atleast this what happened for those 2 evos)
     
  5. driftindaddy

    driftindaddy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Enumclaw, WA
    Ok some my friends evo has 2.3, so if the app I have doesn't work on his phone due to his having the updated software, does anyone know of an screenshot app that will work for him?
     
  6. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX
    If the ones in the market won't work and Screenshots are a necessity for him then he might wanna consider rooting. There is a non root app but it's $5 and everytime you reboot/turn the phone off you have to reconnect to your pc to reactivate the screen shot app. Kind of the pain so i didn't bother with it. I think it's called no root screen shot.
     
  7. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    Yep, you must not have updated your OS, so you have an older version of Android that apparently let you do that without root. If it doesn't work for your friend, then he would need to root his phone. But unfortunately you cannot root 2.3 on the evo yet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...