1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support need help with camera button

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by touv, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. touv

    touv Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    hi guys, I cant figure out why my camera button is tiggering the volume and not the camera. Every time I press it to use my camera it keeps lowering my ringer volume and when im in the camera mode(from app) it wont snap any pics, it just takes me back to my main page and lower the volume. Can anyone help me out? thx

    ps - did I config the button to something else by accident? please help
     

    Advertisement

  2. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,442
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    2,442
    200
    143
    You said "from app". Maybe that app is screwing things up???
     
  3. YooserNaem

    YooserNaem Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    I think he means the factory camera app.
     
  4. touv

    touv Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    I dont know, all i know is that when i press the red button it just lower my ringer volume. I cant take pictures or use my cam at all. when I the factory app and snap a picture, the button will kick me out of the app and lower my volume :(. as of now its a volume button. I tried factory reset.... still the same.
     
  5. Hrethgir

    Hrethgir Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,684
    225
    163
    Male
    Intel fab tech
    Salem, OR
    Might want to take it back to the store, there might be a hardware problem. Especially since you did a factory reset, that should eliminate any problems an app may have caused.
     
  6. Hyrui1116

    Hyrui1116 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    My friend is also having this problem and I've been searching all droid forums to figure out the problem.
     
  7. buddiec

    buddiec Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    36
    1
    16
    I have a simular issue except mine activates a text box if I hit the red button and I am not in the camera mode I can use it to take pics I just have to enter the camera mode first with the icon then I can take pic's, it has been like this since it was delivered and I would love to fix it but I dont know how a factory reset is not in the pic unless I have to since I can still take pic's any help would be great
     
  8. Hyrui1116

    Hyrui1116 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Buddiec, check your messaging app to see if you can find a setting within it that enables your camera button as a texting shortcut. I know you said it came like that out of the box but it is worth a shot. I know Handcent SMS has that setting you could enable.
     
  9. mahers

    mahers Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    1,320
    164
    143
    Male
    Product Manager
    Concord, CA
    What he said :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...