1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

need help with my htc m7

Discussion in 'Android Rooting' started by kickflipsnnollies, Aug 1, 2016.

  1. kickflipsnnollies

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016

    Aug 1, 2016
    20
    4
    16
    Hi there. I bought myself M7 recently. Got it rooted and got TWRP installed. Im working on a computer with no internet. I only have internet on an extra phone Im borrowing.

    I tried to throw the latest compatible version of CM on it. I screwed up and got the wrong Gapps file. So I figured Id just get the right one and drag/drop from my laptop then flash it through TWRP. I must have messed up my backup somehow too, because now Im stuck in recovery. Its not mounting on my computer so that I can drag/drop and I cant get it to push over with adb. Any suggestions? Ive been searching for a while (I did manage to root and learn the stuff Im talking about now in the last couple days) but Im still a noob.

    Thanks in advance for any help
     

    Advertisement

  2. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,312
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,312
    653
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
    Are you sure the drivers for the device are still working?
    TWRP works with some drivers while in recovery and others will work fine in fastboot and adb but when used in recovery are a no go. Check your device manager on your PC. You could sideload a rom and gapps.
     
  3. kickflipsnnollies

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016

    Aug 1, 2016
    20
    4
    16
    Im not sure how to even check if the drivers are still working. I switched to cwm to see if it helped but it didnt. Im trying sideloading right now.
     
  4. kickflipsnnollies

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016

    Aug 1, 2016
    20
    4
    16
    Sideloading didnt work. I dont know what else to do at this point. Im on Linux btw. Ubuntu 14.01 in particular. Shouldnt matter much but idk.
     
  5. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,312
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,312
    653
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
    When you type adb devices in Twrp/Cwm what is the output?
     
  6. kickflipsnnollies

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016

    Aug 1, 2016
    20
    4
    16
    Code (Text):
    1. HT36NW907135    recovery
     
  7. kickflipsnnollies

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016

    Aug 1, 2016
    20
    4
    16
    Trying a system restore now
     
  8. kickflipsnnollies

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016

    Aug 1, 2016
    20
    4
    16
    System restore through TWRP didnt work. This is awful. Im stuck without a working phone till I get this running
     
  9. kickflipsnnollies

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016

    Aug 1, 2016
    20
    4
    16
    A friend came over who said he could help. Within 5 minutes he had the entire thing formatted. And Im worse off than when I started. Still cant get past recovery and now theres nothing to flash. Idk where to even start now.
     
  10. kickflipsnnollies

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016

    Aug 1, 2016
    20
    4
    16
    Id still love help if anyone has advice. I tried to post at xda-developers but this loaner wont let me post there. Idk anywhere else I can ask. Im trying to just read more about Android in general so I dont need to do this again but I kinda need my phone back asap.

    Thanks again for any help. Ive been searching for hours but Im basically learning that I followed bad instructions or did something I really shouldnt have considering my experience level.

    Im willing to put in the work to learn but its looking like its gonna take longer than I have.
     
  11. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,312
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,312
    653
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
    Well with Linux no drivers are needed and the device was being detected in the recovery.

    What version of TWRP were you using? At work so replies will be here and there till i get off.
     
  12. kickflipsnnollies

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016

    Aug 1, 2016
    20
    4
    16
    TWRP is version 2.6.3.0. I forget which CWM I was using (renamed it to be easier on the command line) but I didnt like it anyway.

    And I didnt mean to rush last night. Sorry. Id had a couple drinks and was freaking out.

    I did have it rooted and running at one point. The problem came when trying to flash a ROM.
     
  13. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,665
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    I'm assuming you unlocked the Bootloader are you still S-On? In TWRP did you try to mount USB-storage?
     
  14. kickflipsnnollies

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016

    Aug 1, 2016
    20
    4
    16
    I am still s-on. I think I tried to mount usb storage.

    Ive managed to get to where I can push with adb but I just have to catch it at just the right time in booting.

    Is there any output that might help? As of right now there is nothing in my internal hdd. I have a Sprint M7 that I could pull files from if need be.
     
  15. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,665
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    I think with a USB-OTG adaptor you can mount it and flash directly from it.
     
  16. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,665
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    Jfalls63 likes this.
  17. kickflipsnnollies

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016

    Aug 1, 2016
    20
    4
    16
    I could mount what and flash directly from it? Mount my working M7 and flash my soft-bricked one via my PC? Theyre slightly different models. The loaner is the Sprint variant (pn07200) and the one Im trying to fix is the pn07120, which I believe is the AT&T variant.

    Also, your link is way over my head. This is very much a learning experience.
     
  18. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,665
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    #18 Bg260, Aug 2, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2016
    Jfalls63 likes this.
  19. kickflipsnnollies

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016

    Aug 1, 2016
    20
    4
    16
    Thanks. Im still reading anyway. I figure if I go over it enough maybe Ill put it together. Idk. Not much else I can do right now
     
    Bg260 likes this.
  20. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,665
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    I updated the previous post. Check out that link.
     
  21. kickflipsnnollies

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016

    Aug 1, 2016
    20
    4
    16
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. (bootloader) version: 0.5
    3. (bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.61.0000
    4. (bootloader) version-baseband: 4M.32.3218.06
    5. (bootloader) version-cpld: None
    6. (bootloader) version-microp: None
    7. (bootloader) version-main: 7.23.502.9
    8. (bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
    9. (bootloader) serialno: ***********
    10. (bootloader) imei: **************
    11. (bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
    12. (bootloader) product: m7_ul
    13. (bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
    14. (bootloader) modelid: PN0712000
    15. (bootloader) cidnum: CWS__001
    16. (bootloader) battery-status: good
    17. (bootloader) battery-voltage: 3987mV
    18. (bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
    19. (bootloader) security: on
    20. (bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
    21. (bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
    22. (bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-0e2a13e5
    23. (bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
    24. (bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
     
  22. kickflipsnnollies

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016

    Aug 1, 2016
    20
    4
    16
    Been trying to decipher this and Im not seeing what I need. Im also skeptical about doing anything else on my own at this point.
     
  23. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,312
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,312
    653
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
    What happens when you try to sideload a Rom? Do you get a error?

    What stock Android version did you have? It seems to me the TWRP version you have is old... I would try a newer version depending on your Android version. Then try sideload
     
  24. kickflipsnnollies

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016

    Aug 1, 2016
    20
    4
    16
    Yeah, I get an error. Ill try again in a sec and post what comes up.

    I'm pretty sure it was 5.1 to begin with (after all official updates).

    I'll post what I get and see if you can figure out some options.
     
    Bg260 likes this.
  25. kickflipsnnollies

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016

    Aug 1, 2016
    20
    4
    16
    So I had another rom I had tried before and renamed for easy typing in the command line. Tried to sideload that.

    Code (Text):
    1. Target: htc/m7_google/m7:5.1/LMY470.H18/666675:
    2. Could not detect filesystem for /dev/block/plat
    3. Mount:failed to mount /dev/block/platform/msm_
    4. Unmount of /system failed; no such volume
    5. Patching system image unconditionally...
    6. Verifying the updated system image...
    7. System partition has unexpected contents after
    8. E:Error executing updater binary in zip 'data/
    Looks like its cut off at the end but I cant seem to get it to come up any other way.
     

Share This Page

Loading...