1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Need help with my phone's GPS

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by elchoche23, Jan 3, 2013.

  1. elchoche23

    elchoche23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    I have an HTC EVO 4g that is flashed to Cricket. Everything works really well except the GPS. The phone is not flashed and is running the OEM Rom. I am also running the latest PRL; I copied it from another Cricket phone after doing *228 (Huawei Mercury -- Wife's phone not flashed or anything like that). Issue is that the GPS won't lock; I downloaded the GPS Test app and it will see a couple of satellites and will lock to one or two and then disconnect so Google Maps won't work properly. A few days ago, I took a 50 mile trip and while I was about 30 miles away from where I live, I tried the Gps Test app and it saw and locked on to 8 or 10 satellites at times. Tried the Google Maps and it worked; once I got back to my place, same issue arose -- can't lock to the satellites. I have tried the ##GPSCLRX# but it doesn't seem to do much. Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    30,006
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,006
    24,911
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Did this happen all of a sudden or after the flash to Cricket?
    I am not sure how you did the prl change with that #228 thing.
    And I say that because on my Evo, which was with Sprint and rooted, the only way to change the PRL was with a ##775# code.
    You said you were not rooted correct? Is that what you mean when you say "The phone is not flashed and is running the OEM Rom."
     
  3. elchoche23

    elchoche23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    Mikestony,

    Thanks for replying; I got the phone and flashed it right away so not sure if this happened after the flash. My wife has a Huawei Mercury and I loaded QPST and used RL Editor to create the prl. With QPST, I then brought the prl into my EVO. The phone is flashed to work on the Cricket network but Android is stock. Thanks again for your help and if there are any other ideas, please let me know.
     
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    30,006
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,006
    24,911
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    So the GPS worked fine for you when you were about 30 miles from home.
    But when you got home, it stopped working correct?
    Does your wifes phone have gps issues?
     
  5. elchoche23

    elchoche23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    About 30 miles from my house, yes the gps seemed to be fine. Right now, I have loaded the GPS Test app on both phones. My wife's phone will see 10 satellites and use all 10. Mine will see up 7 satellites and use four but then it drops to 5 satellites in view and so on. At some point it'll see 6 sat's and lock on 5. It just seems to be very inconsistent so when the phone is on the move, then it seems to suffer with the locking of the sat's
     
  6. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    30,006
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,006
    24,911
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
  7. elchoche23

    elchoche23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    Tried the app and cleared the data and rebooted the phone to be sure but what I don't understand is that the orientation is right (North, South, and such) except that it has trouble locking. It keeps looking for the gps location. I'm reading the other thread to see if there is anything else I could try. I guess my thinking is that there might be a file similar to the prl but for the gps. Just not sure.
     
  8. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    30,006
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,006
    24,911
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    This might be a silly question but, are you outside when you try this?
     
  9. elchoche23

    elchoche23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    "Silly", never; in fact, I truly appreciate you taking the time to help. It's the same inside or outside; however, when I'm outside and on the gps test app, it'll see a few more sat's but it will still have trouble locking. I'm puzzled as to why just a few miles away from my house, the gps locks really well so I doubt it's hardware issue.
     
  10. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    30,006
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,006
    24,911
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    I tend to agree that it's not hardware related.
    Thinking that your phone, where its at now, just doesn't have a good gps signal for whatever reason.
    Just for giggles, I wonder how far away from your home do you need to be for it to work reliably. :thinking:
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...