1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Need help with OTA updates

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Dieewigeteufel, Feb 2, 2011.

1. Dieewigeteufel

I'm a complete noob with this. I just got my droid x and rooted it. Now it downloaded an OTA update and I keep hitting install later and it keeps popping up every two hours. How can I block this/get rid of the update it has already downloaded? I think the update was to go from 2.2 to 2.2.3. Ugh. I don't want to lose my root. Thanks in advance!

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. Steven58

Let it install. It's a good update. The use Download z4root 1.3.0 for Android Free - z4root will root your device and enable you to supply system level access to applications that request it. - Softpedia (z4root) to re-root. It's easy. Download it from this site ^ then install it.

Then reboot. After rebooting, select the "permanent root" option. Let it do its thing. It'll take a minute or three and will reboot you into root. :)

PM me if you need further help.

Finally, I have to move this to the root section, but I'll leave a long redirect for ya! :)

Dieewigeteufel likes this.
  3. Flyingfish

Flyingfish Member

Hey Steven Like the avatar

Steven58 likes this.
  4. Steven58

I encourage anyone else to use it, as well, as a sign of protest.

5. Dieewigeteufel

30.04 is the boot loader version.

6. Steven58

7. Dieewigeteufel

Downloading now. Back in a moment.

8. Dieewigeteufel

Ok I think I'm ready to proceed.

9. Steven58

Let us know. :)

10. Dieewigeteufel

Ok after that step, what do I need to do?

11. Steven58

1) Make sure you wipe data and cache first. If you don't, when you boot into 2.2.1, you may get a boot animation loop (bootloop). I did. If you do, that's no problem.
    Just pull the battery. Put it back in. Hold down the HOME button, then put the power button down. When you get a \!/ notice, hit the search button.