1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Apps Need help with query Calendar,Notes and tasks.

Discussion in 'Android Development' started by tomatoboy, Jul 19, 2009.

  1. tomatoboy

    tomatoboy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009

    Jun 24, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    I would like to ask is there any API can use to query, edit and add Calendar, Notes and Tasks from Android?
     

    Advertisement

  2. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,217
    Joined:
    May 29, 2009

    May 29, 2009
    1,217
    130
    143
    Denmark
    Briefly put, storage is either direct-to-database in which case only 'your' app can know about it and read the data, or it's via a Content Provider that any app may use to work with the data.

    The page linked to above actually contains a code snippet showing how to access the phone book. As it says on the help page, you can see some of them listed in the android.provider package. You will notice, however, that it's mainly listing contacts, bookmarks, and media providers -- I am not entirely sure how to programmatically obtain a comprehensive listing of all providers currently available on a device, and the necessary names and constants.

    If someone else knows, please do share! Perhaps there's an Open Providers registry somewhere, analogous to Open Intents?
     
  3. tomatoboy

    tomatoboy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009

    Jun 24, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    I only can use the android.provider package to query contact but not the Calendar, Notes and Tasks. There still don't have such API in android.provider for Calendar, Notes and Tasks. Is there any other way to do it?
     
  4. tomatoboy

    tomatoboy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009

    Jun 24, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    The problem was fixed. But then I encounter another problem that is can not update/delete the company field.
     
  5. SFLeBrun

    SFLeBrun Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Software Engineer
    USA
    What was the fix?
     

Share This Page

Loading...