1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Need help with Samsung Galaxy Note II bought from the Philippines

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DMEJH, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. DMEJH

    DMEJH Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Recently I bought a Samsung Galaxy Note II N7100 through GLOBE in the Philippines (w/ 2 yr contract) and because of a family emergency issue I had to return to the USA and it looks like I will have to stay here for a while.

    (1) I want to unlock this phone to use it here, but I'm not sure if it's doable here. Does anyone know? (Some say phones purchased from GLOBE is international phones and already unlocked. Is it true?)

    Updated: The GLOBE sales representative told me that they won't unlock the phone for the first year of my contract period. Bummer. This means I have no way to unlock the phone?

    (2) If it's possible to unlock, can this phone be used with T-mobile micro sim card (for prepaid plan)? Or even with other carrier such as AT&T?

    If you are from the Philippines and happen to know these secrets, please please share with me. I'd really appreciate your help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    Get "SIM unlock code" from the Phillipine carrier. If its not already unlocked.

    Check the box your phone came in for supported frequencies. At&t and T-Mo both use 850/1900 bands, with T-Mo also using 1700/2100. The T-Mo version, once unlocked, supports at&t HSPA, so some or most versions have multi radio support.
     
  3. DMEJH

    DMEJH Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Thank you for your reply!

    The GLOBE sales representative told me that they won't unlock the phone for the first year of my contract period. Bummer. This means I have no way to unlock the phone?
     
  4. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    Search google, or this forum, for, "Note 2 unlock process"...simple procedure documented here, and the xda developer forums.
     
  5. Veritas4420

    Veritas4420 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    642
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    642
    84
    78
    Male
    Garmin Tech support
    Kansas
  6. DMEJH

    DMEJH Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Tried but failed.

    After selecting [6] Network Lock, I didn't get an "Option" menu, but this was what I got.

    Menu not exist
    Press back key
    Current command is 186.

    Bummer. For a while, I was hopeful. ; )
     
  7. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    You may have missed a step...instructions have a caveat.
     

Share This Page

Loading...