1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root need help with wifi trther

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dxc, Aug 15, 2010.

  1. dxc

    dxc Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    23
    1
    16
    carpenter
    utah
    i am trying to find out a way to get wifi tethering on my phone and idk what im doing wrong. ive tryed different apps, roms and kernels with no luck. can anyone pls help me?
     

    Advertisement

  2. caustic

    caustic Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Did you download the wifi tether app?
     
  3. dxc

    dxc Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    23
    1
    16
    carpenter
    utah
    yes branacle and wireless tether cant get ether to work
     
  4. bowtieduece

    bowtieduece Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    34
    2
    16
    same here using cm6 nightlie 8-15, usb tether works though
     
  5. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to.
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    4,534
    306
    183
    Truck driver/ driver mentor. I train people to dri
    Georgia
    You have to have a new kernel to use WiFi tether app, I ain't been able to use barnacle since I've upgraded to Froyo. So download and flash a new kernal. This may fix your problem.
     
  6. dxc

    dxc Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    23
    1
    16
    carpenter
    utah

    Which kernal is best for wifi tether? We have tried a couple, Chevyno1 and P3droid. neither seem to work.
     
  7. mchauber

    mchauber Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    5
    0
    25

    You might be running into the same problem as I. You need IPTables enabled in your kernel for tethering to work.
     
  8. dxc

    dxc Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    23
    1
    16
    carpenter
    utah

    How do you enable IPTables?
     
  9. mchauber

    mchauber Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    5
    0
    25
    The kernel has to be recompiled with iptables enabled. That's what I'm trying to figure out how to do now via my other thread.

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-droid/150318-compiling-kernel-source.html#post1379680

    There's a link to a how-to in my post that I found via google, but I'm a bit weary of following it because I don't know if there's anything hardware specific or version specific that I need to be aware of. This whole Android thing is pretty new to me, but I definitely want to learn (without bricking the phone, of course! :) ).
     
  10. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to.
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    4,534
    306
    183
    Truck driver/ driver mentor. I train people to dri
    Georgia
    ^^^ Just so you know, I've never had to do this. Try the WiFi app for root users that's in the market. If it won't work when you start it up, go into the settings and change the channel. Repeat until your computer connects. But, that's only if your computer sees your WiFi signal but won't connect, which. I'm assuming is the problem.
    If your running Froyo on your phone, don't try Barnacle WiFi app, last time I tried, my computer couldn't enemy see it. They may have fixed it, but not sure. At any rate, I hope this helps.
     
  11. mchauber

    mchauber Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    5
    0
    25
    I stand corrected. I was under the assumption that tethering required iptables.

    I just tested it and the WiFi app (for root) seems to work for me after following this sticky thread (for rooting 2.2):

    http://androidforums.com/1300363-post1.html

    MC


    PS. Works with the ChevyLV .8 GHz kernel as well.
     
  12. bill hilt

    bill hilt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    why cant i see that root guide NEVER MIND
     
  13. jayk

    jayk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Do you remember doing anything else when you rooted 2.2? Did you do the data/cache wipe?

    I had wifi tethering working on a release of Bugless Beast, but wifi itself could not connect. Now I'm on a simply stunning build with a Chevy kernel and wifi works great, but wifi tethering doesn't work. I've tried a couple Chevy kernels and have the same problem with wifi tether.

    I think you are correct that the android-wifi-tether does require iptables. Some of the kernel's have it built in though so you shouldn't have to recompile from scratch.

    FWIW - Barnacle hasn't worked on any of the builds.

    Is there another wifi app on the market that is neither barnacle or the android-wifi-tether? Don't have my phone with me or I would have checked.
     
  14. jayk

    jayk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Got it to work by going to menu -> settings -> menu -> Re-Install binaries/configs as suggested on the FAQ.
     
  15. Trofn8er

    Trofn8er Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    38
    1
    16
    San Diego,CA
    What app are you using?
     
  16. dxc

    dxc Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    23
    1
    16
    carpenter
    utah
    ive been using the wifi tether app i still cant get it to work. but its not a lose my wife got it to work on her phone and she wont let me live it down lol
     
  17. i_am_booked

    i_am_booked Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    86
    6
    16
    I had a problem of the wireless tether app connecting to my pc but not getting an internet connection. Just open the app then Menu->Setup->Menu->Reinstall binaries/configs.

    That worked for me. That info is also coming straight from Google.
     
  18. Amrov

    Amrov Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    115
    9
    36
    Texas
    Barnacle, on 2.2, requires you to deactivate an option for it to work (the developer posted this note on his site). I've gotten it to work on 2.2 and on LFY1.5 (based on 2.2). Go into Barnacle's settings, and uncheck "skip wpa_supplicant" and see if it works.
     

Share This Page

Loading...