1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Need help with Yahoo mail.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AweSomeFacE4, Jan 5, 2014.

  1. AweSomeFacE4

    AweSomeFacE4 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012

    Feb 26, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    I need help with my yahoo mail,I don't know why cant you make yahoo main account for android,why you MUST chose gmail to be your main account.
    Now I have two accounts on my phone for a long time;
    xxxxxxxxxx@yahoo.com(The only mail account I use)
    and
    xxxxxxxxxx@gmail.com(Created because couldnt register android with yahoo).

    So my question is if I factory reset my phone and at the start,when it asks:
    "Do you have Google Account" chose Yes and then type my Yahoo mail it says something like :
    "Invalid email,try again."
    I bought few apps,but they are on gmail account,is there any way to transfer them to my yahoo account?(5 dollars,so not big deal if I cant transfer purchases.)

    So,is there a way to register android phone using only yahoo?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,815
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,815
    4,877
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    If you identify the phone you are using we will move your question to the forum dedicated to it.

    ... Thom
     
  3. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    First off you need to understand that Android was provided to the world via Google. Google owns it not Yahoo. You need a gmail account to buy apps from the play store. You can use an alternate store like Amazon but again you have to have an Amazon account and if you ever delete the Amazon app store none of the apps you purchased will work with your device any longer.

    No you cannot transfer apps over to a yahoo account. Yahoo has nothing to do with android except its own program(s) made for it. Just like with the iStuff out there you are tied to the iTunes with it. There are alternative markets but with that comes the risk of getting programs that have been hacked to leak your information back to the "Home Office" of the hacker(s)

    Registering your android phone with Yahoo is like registering your Windows computer with Apple.
     
  4. AweSomeFacE4

    AweSomeFacE4 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012

    Feb 26, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Ah,thanks for explaning me why I cant do that.

    My phone is ZTE Blade III
     
  5. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,815
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,815
    4,877
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Thread moved from Android Lounge.

    ... Thom
     

Share This Page

Loading...