1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Need help!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by darkster13, Mar 12, 2011.

  1. darkster13

    darkster13 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Ok, so i was trying to update my epic 4g to clockworkmod to v3.0.0.5 by rerooting. idk what happend that when it finished my epic just got stuck in the samsung boot screen. I tried to restore it, but when it finished it still gets stuck at the boot screen. i can go back into the clockworkmod but only that, also i can't seem to put my device into download mode, please someone help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    592
    69
    78
    machinist
    superior wi
    Get this fixed?
     
  3. darkster13

    darkster13 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    yeah i need to know how to fix it.
     
  4. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    592
    69
    78
    machinist
    superior wi
    Well i will do my best, cant promise anything. Still cant get to the bootloader at all? If not i have read where people have been there and taken out their battery for a few hours to a day and tried it and were able to get the bootloader. But before that can you get into recovery? If so what one, the green 2.5 cwm or orange 3.0.5 cwm or the blue stock?
     
  5. darkster13

    darkster13 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Thank you! Yeah i can get into recovery, its orange 3.0.5 cwm
     
  6. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    592
    69
    78
    machinist
    superior wi
    Ok do you have any ext 4 roms on your card? If not i would load one onto it. Then in either scenario try wiping cache, data(factory reset) and dalvic cache 3x each and flashing the rom.
     
  7. darkster13

    darkster13 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    will do, going to download ViperROM [TRiNiTY v2.0] EXT4-RFS DK28 Dual 4.0.4
    i already wiped the everything else.
     
  8. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    592
    69
    78
    machinist
    superior wi
    I have brought myself back a few times this way (fingers crossed)
     
  9. droid newb

    droid newb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    399
    20
    38
    Fort Pierce, FL
    Did that with my brother's Epic today. It wouldn't reboot. Got back to recovery screen and flashed the Frozen ROM. The first flash didn't take, but flashed again and it worked like a charm!
     
  10. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    592
    69
    78
    machinist
    superior wi
    Pardon the pun here but epic feeling eh? Lol
     
    darkster13 likes this.
  11. darkster13

    darkster13 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Thank You sooo much, it worked!!! YES!!
     
  12. droid newb

    droid newb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    399
    20
    38
    Fort Pierce, FL
    Ummmmm...yah! He just got his phone yesterday...when it was hung up on the Samsung screen and wouldn't go back to recovery I was thinking I was going to be buying him a new phone.

    What's weird is his phone came with 2.2.1 so I don't know if they put it on the phone for him or what, but I think that may have been part of the problem. I actually had to Odin his phone and re-root. What was very strange is that after Odin he still had 2.2.1 on his phone. I'm pretty sure mine went back to 2.1 after Odin, unless my memory is failing me.

    At any rate, after re-root instead of rebooting I wiped all data, cache, etc and flashed the ROM. It didn't take so went back to recovery, reflashed and bingo...done!
     
  13. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    592
    69
    78
    machinist
    superior wi

    Sweet! I always keep an extra rom handy on my card just for that reason. Backups aren't always the most reliable thing! :)
     
  14. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    592
    69
    78
    machinist
    superior wi
    Droid newb, depends on what tar you put into odin. If you are like me i have multiples laying around and i catch myself sometimes putting the wrong one in there. I almost put an old moment one in a few weeks back and that would have been a for sure insta brick! And that is just odd that it came with 2.2 on it since they pulled the update.
     
  15. droid newb

    droid newb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    399
    20
    38
    Fort Pierce, FL
    I used the only .tar file I had. :headscratcher:
     
  16. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    592
    69
    78
    machinist
    superior wi
    Lol, dunno man. Atleast you were able to save your brothers phone. Everytime i get to that point i always tell myself never again, then i just do it all over again. This is my "crack" and can never get enough of it. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...