1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Need immediate help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SOCOM-HERO, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. SOCOM-HERO

    SOCOM-HERO Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    128
    12
    58
     

    Advertisement

  2. XBarbarian

    XBarbarian Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    56
    2
    16
    Sys Admin
    Tampa Bay
  3. SOCOM-HERO

    SOCOM-HERO Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    128
    12
    58
    Will give that a shot....and report back.
     
  4. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    Linux CD is so much easier IMO for people that have not already set up their computer with RSDlite.
     
  5. SOCOM-HERO

    SOCOM-HERO Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    128
    12
    58
    cant stand RSD anymore. I am actually glad that this happened as I have never messed with linux. I just finished downloading the 4.5.596 Gingerbread sbf file onto a bootable USB stick(as I have no CDs here currently) Will now try to make the magic happen...and if its as good as its sounds, I might use this method forever.
     
  6. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    I always use the linux method. It works flawlessly every time.
     
  7. SOCOM-HERO

    SOCOM-HERO Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    128
    12
    58
    the 4.5.596 file wouldn't load properly from my USB .iso....the screen went completely wacky on me...idk what happened. Gonna go for the 2.3.340 and just upgrade to .602 from there. How do you do that btw?
     
  8. SOCOM-HERO

    SOCOM-HERO Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    128
    12
    58
    its not working at all. I am going to buy some CDs and do it the old school way....

    edit: burning now. Hope this works.
     
  9. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
  10. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    I still use rsd lite. :D
     
  11. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA

    Me too :D
     
  12. SOCOM-HERO

    SOCOM-HERO Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    128
    12
    58
    I did use that method. I went to the iso from 1KDStaz0.9 and it said that it installed it fine to my USB...loaded that from boot and came to a screen that was blue with options to boot from....not BIOS, it was the USB stick boot screen for Linux. I hit the second option since the first (default) didn't work. It loaded the rootfs.gz file and had the dots on the bottom of the screen progressing. Then a splash screen appeared and went through a lot of data about my comp system. After that I saw a lot of [OK] next to items for like 1 second on screen....then BAM! Static-ish stuff all over the screen frozen....on the bottom was moving static-ish lines and blurs...did that for over 5 mins. I shut down. Tried the ISO from a CD. SAME RESULT except that the boot screen looked different "boot baby boot"...hit enter. Dotted yellow lines on bottom of screen. Then same old static for minutes....shut down....posted here on forums very confused.

    it gets to the :50 sec mark in this persons video (NOT MY VIDEO) and then the screen goes nuts...

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MJtFxGbwFDU

    I am starting to think my comp (a laptop) hates me and I should try another persons. Or ...... throw my x in the toilet and take it back to VZW.
     
  13. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    Maybe try another persons. Or just continue troubleshooting your rsdlite problems. I can't help you there as I've only used it once on another persons computer and it took a bit to setup but was easy after that. I'm on a mac but dual boot ubuntu 10.04 for android stuff.
     
    XBarbarian and SOCOM-HERO like this.
  14. Coolguy71261

    Coolguy71261 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    398
    10
    38
    Yea try another PC, I couldn't root my brothers thunderbolt using an easy root method and changing computers worked
     
    SOCOM-HERO likes this.
  15. SOCOM-HERO

    SOCOM-HERO Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    128
    12
    58
    Used a friends PC and my Linux boot USB stick. No issues whatsoever....probably the best SBF ever....if there is such a thing. I'm going to uninstall all drivers and software on my PC and re-install later. At least my phone now has .602....whew!

    edit: I think it may have been a firewall issue in conjunction with other problems. I just cleaned my registry and it seemed to have many invalid firewall rules. I guess I need to turn it off when I do SBFs?
     
    XBarbarian likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...