• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Need information on unrooting or not.

biretsu89

Lurker
Aug 26, 2010
This is my first time here.. so feel free to bash if I didnt need to post this up.. I did try to find some one with the same issue... but nada

I was interested in overclocking my droid eris... so i decided to look up how to do it and i found this site : How To: Root the HTC Droid Eris (and Get Android 2.1)(Updated ? 06.11.2010) | TheUnlockr ... And i did exactly what it said and "rooted" my phone... but then i found this current forum site... and I read a couple things about having a hboot something of 1.49 and that it was not possible to root : / ... I know my phone already had 2.1 update originally from verizon...

Now all I noticed that the "rooting" thingy did was just wipe the phone's memory like my scenes and apps and what not ( Dont really care... I will just redo everything from scratch) My question is... After learning that rooting my phone is useless.... do I need to Unroot my phone at all? Will the update that I loaded mess anything up on my phone in the future? ... Everything seems to be the same... Any help would be apreciated:D

Sweeet.... that sadly made my day... well not sadly. Haha. I did reboot the phone.. but I don't think that did anything. Thanks guys.. now to learn to overclock. Now i feel bad making this damn entire thread. Ha.. wait.. can I just download set CPU now or do I have to acquire something else? I will look it up.

Upvote 0
define 'useless' in this context? :)
You've rooted, you can now overclock using SetCPU from the market.
It seems to me you've achieved what you set out to do. Am I missing something?

I noticed that the Eris is not on the listing of phones when running setcpu for the first time. Since the Eris and Hero are pretty much the same phone, do most folks chose the Hero profile?

Upvote 0