1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Accessories Need Replacement Micro SD card for Droid

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TKazNC, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. TKazNC

    TKazNC Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    21
    4
    16
    Western NC

    Advertisement

  2. NiceGuysFinishLast

    NiceGuysFinishLast Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    472
    73
    73
    FL
    Get the Sandisk for the same price. I've got a class 2 8GB in mine right now, and it works fine.
     
  3. Carimerr

    Carimerr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    45
    0
    15
    A-Data is alright, but Sandisk memory is more reliable in general, at least in my experience. You should look into buying them from eBay as well, just keep an eye out for knockoffs.
     
  4. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    The maximum is a 32GB card. I have one BUT:

    If you're rooted & ROMmed, be advised that ClockworkMod chokes on that much memory and will only make a backup 1 out of 3 tries. Making a backup in ROM Manager is pretty much out of the question. But as far as apps and music/movie playback, a SanDisk 32GB works just fine.
     
    TKazNC likes this.
  5. TKazNC

    TKazNC Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    21
    4
    16
    Western NC
    Thanks for the input. I went and ordered SanDisk 16GB from Amazon for $22. I had a gift card for $25 and with shipping only spent <$2. :) Now I just have to wait until it arrives. Missing all my CM7 Nightlies. Very sad.

    T
     
  6. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    I also think the 32gb is actual slower - IIRC reading others posts over the last year - in the end due to it being a slower class?? or something like that
     
  7. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    The Verizon-branded SanDisk 32GB is a Class 2 card... but that just means it has a MINIMUM speed rating, not really a maximum. I have found the Class 2 card to play back music and movies just fine, with no jittering or delay.
     
  8. HKM

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    422
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    If you are looking to buy 32GB card from reputable dealers then don't buy SanDisk 32GB Class 2 or Kingston 32GB Class 4. Go with Patriot LX 32GB Class 10 its only $100. I have done benchmark on major mSD's you can review them posted in various websites NewEgg's, XDA, ect.

    Patriot LX 32GB Class 10
    Avg R=15-16mbps
    Avg W=12-14mbps

    ^ Just AVG IOPs.
     
  9. rbbtswfl

    rbbtswfl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Why do you need to replace your card?
    I've had trouble with my D2 for quite some time -- and by the time I went through the basic trouble shooting (reset to factory, replace phone with certified like-new, format card) to determine it is a bad SD card, now VZ tells me it was only under a 30 day warranty. So I was too patient.

    My symptoms: taking a long time (like 10 minutes) to connect via USB cable to PC, camera won't open, photos taken; then disappear, music "not recognized format". Now it wouldn't connect to PC at all, just cycling through "preparing SD card". Mine was brand new out of the box in November.

    I've just downloaded and ran sdrescan. I'll see if that can resolve.
     

Share This Page

Loading...