1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Need some help! (rooting content)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tslide91, May 8, 2011.

  1. Tslide91

    Tslide91 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    250
    44
    63
    Northeast u.s.
    I cant post on xda in the development section and the mytouch 4g forum is too slow, so im posting here.

    Im having trouble getting s=off with mytouch 4g. Im permarooted using the visionary method, but it still says s=on.

    Clockwork wont run, it just goes to the red ! over the phone icon.

    Also, ADB push wont work, it keeps saying permission denied.

    Visionary wont unroot either. Help would be appreciated!

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,968
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,968
    25,380
    3,933
    Male
    I'd be glad to send your question to the place where the folks know. Follow the link! I want to warmly welcome you to Android Forums! :)
     
  3. Tslide91

    Tslide91 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    250
    44
    63
    Northeast u.s.
    Thanks and all, but I've been hear a little while now :p
     
  4. Tslide91

    Tslide91 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    250
    44
    63
    Northeast u.s.
    60 views and 2 replies?

    Come on guys, I need some help here!
     
  5. dasudevil

    dasudevil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009

    Sep 22, 2009
    609
    45
    88
    Forklift driver for Frito Lay
    Gilbert, Arizona
  6. Tslide91

    Tslide91 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    250
    44
    63
    Northeast u.s.
    Yes, ive tried just about everything.

    I cant adb push gfree into /data/local, and I cant move it even with a root file explorer.
     
  7. boogyman

    boogyman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Keep trying the link that devilasu left. I had the same issue and had to root 3 time to get the s=off. I did come down to getting sdk downloaded and pushing it through.
     
  8. dasudevil

    dasudevil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009

    Sep 22, 2009
    609
    45
    88
    Forklift driver for Frito Lay
    Gilbert, Arizona
    Okay only thing i can think of would be to give this a try. This is a conversation that i had with ash a while back.



    Check out the links and hopefully something should work. Something has to give. LOL
     
  9. Tslide91

    Tslide91 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    250
    44
    63
    Northeast u.s.
    I keep getting a Permission Denied error when trying to adb push gfree. Any ideas?
     
  10. dasudevil

    dasudevil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009

    Sep 22, 2009
    609
    45
    88
    Forklift driver for Frito Lay
    Gilbert, Arizona
    Ill be honest with you I dont. I have not rooted so i have not come across them issues. Hopefully someone here has and knows a way around it. Sorry.
     
  11. Tslide91

    Tslide91 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    250
    44
    63
    Northeast u.s.
    I think I read somewhere that if the phone had the OTA update it's fine, but if it came factory with 2.2.1, the radio is different, so it didn't work. But that's what I read, doesn't mean it's true.

    I guess I'm not too bummed, I at least got the bloatware off, and there's always LauncherPro to keep it looking nice even though it's the same rom. Really would like to be able to flast a new one, but for some reason I can't.
     
  12. dasudevil

    dasudevil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009

    Sep 22, 2009
    609
    45
    88
    Forklift driver for Frito Lay
    Gilbert, Arizona
    At least your rooted right? Anywho just keep an eye open and hopefully someone out there will make it very simple for us to get perm root. Maybe a one click method.....
     
  13. Tslide91

    Tslide91 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    250
    44
    63
    Northeast u.s.
    ^i used the visionary method, which is as close to one-click as it gets.

    Im glad theres no super easy method. Plenty of idiots would be destroying their phones
     

Share This Page

Loading...