1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support need to access CAPTIVATE files broken screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Hricco, Nov 23, 2010.

  1. Hricco

    Hricco Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Hello All,

    I tried everything and I'm beside myself. I dropped my phone off the second level of a local mall....it is (was) a Samsung Captivate. I was leaning over the rail to yell down to someone and the phone fell out of my pocket.

    The screen is black....the buttons on the bottom light up and function. but I can't see a thing.

    I need to get a video off the phone of my son, it was one of those moments that I was so glad I caught on video. I have to get it!! I"m sending the phone to DR.PHONEZ to get repaired but I scared that this video will be lost. So

    I tried BitPim but the phone isn't supported. IT is recognized by my pc but I can't access the files I need.

    two REMOVABLE drives show up in "MY COMPUTER" but when I click them it says "please insert disk"

    Not sure what to do here, I checked all over the web. PLEASE help

    Anything you guys can think of would be great!!

    Thanks :(
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,559
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,559
    28,617
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Get a USB SD card reader and pop the SD card into any PC. You should be able to copy all the files off. Videos are probably in DCIM/Camera with the extension .3gp
     
  3. vailjo91

    vailjo91 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    4
    1
    26
    Sales Rep for Advanced Technologies
    Mukwonago Wisconsin
    You could also try Samsung Kies
     
  4. Hricco

    Hricco Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks for the replies but I never put an SD card in the phone, i is just the internal memory. KIES I can't find a version that works....:rolleyes:
     
  5. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,559
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,559
    28,617
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    You might try taking it to the AT&T store to see if they can copy the internal memory from the phone.
     
  6. sremick

    sremick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,521
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    2,521
    356
    163
    IT Admin
    USA
    Yeah the problem is the drives don't appear on the PC unless you go through the "mount" procedure on the device, which is rather hard if the screen doesn't work. I installed the auto-mount app which is convenient but doesn't help you now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...