1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Need to Unroot Ally

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by megr0se, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. megr0se

    megr0se Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011

    Nov 4, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    NJ
    My mom wants to use my phone, I haven't used it for quite a while now and when checking the phone out, I noticed the camera doesn't work. Nothing happens when you tap on the icon. I've been trying for hours now to unroot the phone, with no success. Can anyone give me a simple way to go completely stock from Velocity (when I turn the phone on it says version 1.3.6) I've searched it on google, and followed directions from a bunch of threads, and nothing has happened. :( Can anyone help, please? This will be my moms first smart phone, she really wants to set it up, haha. Thanks in advance!

    * Also, I never made a back-up because I never thought I'd need it - silly me :( The simpler, the better for me and the phone haha. *

    * Also, when I connect the phone to my computer, there is no "sd" or "nandroid" folders. I rooted Velocity by just dragging the files to the "Removable Storage" spot. I made a Nandroid folder, and still had no luck *
     

    Advertisement

  2. db2u

    db2u Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    192
    28
    43
    move the stock unrooted nandroid here into your nandroid folder on the sdcard using directions in the thread below:
    http://androidforums.com/ally-all-t...d-2-2-2-stock-rooted-updated-5-july-11-a.html

    boot into recovery. Wipe all data, caches, system, everything.
    go to backup/restore in the recovery, and restore the nandroid you just copied over.

    By the way there is no velocity beyond 1.2.2 so not sure what the 1.3.6 is. You want to make sure you are running a froyo rom before you use this method.
     
  3. megr0se

    megr0se Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011

    Nov 4, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    NJ
    When my phone is connected and I use the drop down to see all the folders, there is no SD or Nandroid files, I just copy them to the Removable Device. Is there something else I should be looking for?
     
  4. db2u

    db2u Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    192
    28
    43
    This is all wrong. Velocity comes rooted. Plus you cant just root something or install velocity by just dragging files to "removable storage"

    Sorry I dont know what to say to help out. You have to be able to see your SD card folders to be able to move files in the right place. Are you sure you have velocity? You dont want to "apply Zip from SD" you should see a backup/restore section as long as you actually have a custom recovery.

    If you double click on removable storage what happens? you are doing this from the pc right?
     
  5. db2u

    db2u Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    192
    28
    43
    Just had a thought, are you doing this all from a recovery including moving the files? If so you have to toggle USB-MS mode to be able to see the contents of the SD card.
     
  6. megr0se

    megr0se Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011

    Nov 4, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    NJ
    I did check and it says it's Velocity 1.2.
    When I hit Removable Storage I get a folder that says .android.secure, Android, clockwork mod, data, DCIM, GOSMS, LOST.DIR, Media, Mikulu, mp3 download, my album, picsay, velocity, velocity backup, velocity morph, velocity1.2.1 and velocity 1.2.1 Patch-signed
     
  7. j2cool2012

    j2cool2012 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    487
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    487
    212
    68
    Android Dev and Tech Consult
    In the computer
    You have never made a nandroid, therefore you will not have a nandroid folder. Create a folder on the root of your sdcard called nandroid
    inside that, make a folder called mem=223M
    Unzip THIS file, and place that folder inside mem=223M
    Then go to recovery, and go to backup/restore, and restore that.
    Once that's done, it will be back to stock. Enjoy.
     
  8. megr0se

    megr0se Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011

    Nov 4, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    NJ
    I did exactly what you said and it said "Mismatch" .. what am I doing wrong here?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...