1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Needed: Best and EASIEST Guide for Rooting the Optimus V

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mehndi, Nov 18, 2011.

1. mehndi

mehndi Newbie
    None

Oct 20, 2011
    I am a super noobie. I have a new Optmus V sitting in its box since September. I want to root it so that I can tether, overclock, remove bloatware and do all the other things that I am not be able to do without rooting. However, I am new to smart phones. I have searched the forum for months and still do not have the confidence to try rooting. Can someone please direct me to the latest, easiest, foolproof instructions for rooting. I am fine when I have explicit direction.

Here are some of the things that are confusing me:

Can I root without activating the phone?
    What is the difference between Gingerbread and Gingerbreak? Or is this just a typo?
    I looked at the 'Root without a Computer' instructions. Does this mean I am downloading from the android market? (I suppose this comes on my phone from the factory)

It seems some methods require you to download programs to your computer and some require downloads from the market? There seems to be a dozen ways to root yet I am not sure which is the easiest most efficient way. Please help?

Advertisement

2. Petrah

Petrah Psychotic Female
    None

Jun 13, 2011
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    Would you pretty please rename the thread title? I viewed this thread (based on the title) thinking there was some new kick-ass way to root the OP V.

mehndi likes this.
  3. sushifor5

sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    None

Aug 29, 2011
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    OK, I'll try to help a bit b/c I really appreciate all the help I've rec'd here....

I honestly don't know about the first question...can you even use the phone and the web connection without activation? You need the web working to root the phone...