1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Needing some help with UOT Kitchen files HALP!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jOgRoAr, Jan 12, 2013.

1. jOgRoAr

jOgRoAr Lurker
    None

Jan 12, 2013
    Male
    California
    So I was digging through old Esteem posts and wanted to get the most out of my device, theming(Themeing?) and such. And I got around to using UOT Kitchen and am now left with the "cooked" UOT files and the original rom (MS910 LD-LG V3.5 ZVD) and upon comparison i noticed that the UOT zip I recieved contains only ;"app","framework","META-INF", and "settings"
    whereas the ZVD mod contains; "data", "META-INF", "system", "Boot.img" and "install busybox". So the UOT zip seems to be lacking in files and I want to know how to proceed, are these files necessary? I wouldn't want to brick my phone. :thinking:
    and feel free to laugh I know its probably a newbie question lol. I'm new to rooting completely I'm still having trouble with terminology :D So explain it to me like i'm 5 :rolleyes:

THANKS IN ADVANCE!

Advertisement

2. travioso

travioso Android Expert
    None

Apr 9, 2011
    Ocala, FL
    On my phone so here is the short version but i'm sure someone else will go more in depth ;)

Basically the kitchen is only replacing the necessary image/frame work files to make the changes you want where as the zvd roms include all the.img files as they are replacing the entire system..

Make a back up first but in general uot has seemed safe..

jOgRoAr likes this.
  3. jOgRoAr

jOgRoAr Lurker
    None

Jan 12, 2013
    Male
    California
    thanks,travioso
    you have helped feel at ease with what I may do, i think i'm just gonna try taking the "cooked" files and overwriting the original ones that came with the rom and backing up the old ones along with the whole rom on its own. once again thanks loads!

4. travioso

travioso Android Expert
    None

Apr 9, 2011
    Ocala, FL