1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Netflix App on the FT3

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by EvilEd209, Jul 5, 2011.

  1. EvilEd209

    EvilEd209 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    46
    5
    16
    So, has anyone gotten the NetFlix App to work on the FT3? I am currently running the stock ROM and I was not sure if Tim's 4E ROM could fix this or if I am just hoping for a bit too much out of this tablet to watch NetFlix on it.

    Has anyone got it to work on their FT3 and if so how?

    Thanks,

    Ed
     

    Advertisement

  2. mburwen

    mburwen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    138
    8
    36
    Petaluma,CA,USA
    FYI, you will find many posts on this subject on the apad.tv forum. Just do a search on "Netflix." Basically, it doesn't seem that anyone has got it to work on an FT3.

    Working on the assumption that the problems might be performance-related, I bought a class 10 sd card, transferred the Netflix app to it and made sure that all other apps were killed. Amazing - the video is perfect!.. However, the audio has a track over the movie audio that sounds like Alvin and his chipmunks, so the app is still useless. Many posters on the Apad forum report the same phenomenon.

    One of the firmware gurus ("The Chillhacker") may be looking into this problem. I was unsuccessful in locating anyone at Netflix who knew what I was talking about.
     
    EvilEd209 likes this.
  3. EvilEd209

    EvilEd209 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    46
    5
    16
    Thanks for the info. I did not think to post this on that forum but I will remember to do so in the future.

    Thanks!

    Ed
     
  4. mburwen

    mburwen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    138
    8
    36
    Petaluma,CA,USA
    Bump.

    Has anyone been able to get streaming movies to work on the Flytouch 3 - Netflix or otherwise? Does Tim's 5a help?
     
  5. weltall

    weltall Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011

    Jun 26, 2011
    194
    14
    38
    Facebook counts as streaming video? If yes it works on my Facepad. I am on tim5a. Just used a youtube app that opens straight to youtube. Some vids work fine and some not (too laggy actually) And it does not get laggy on HD. Its just some vids. I do not know why.

    Ok just tried youtube with dolphin, It does not even load videos. I went to animecrazy and tried a coupel of steams there. "Speedy Joe" As they call it buffered fast but the video was laggy. Videobb was stuck at buffering (waited about 5 minutes), megaupload (megavideo whatever) buffered fast and it was less laggy (i am pretty sure it was a lower quality video though). I also tried on watch-supernatural-online site an episode but except videobb not loadign the rest asked for divx player and some did not even load. I wonder if there is another way except dolphin.

    Ooook just tried Opera Mini.. uber fast, youtube works fine and fast with a couple of videos. (Darn scrolling is so fast). Speedy Joe one does not load. Videobb does not even try to load and get stuck at the loading screen. Megaupload - nothing. So yeah nothing except youtube works and even the sites that dolphin tried to download the video give error. I am gonna play aroudn with dolphins settings.. Maybe somethign with quality? Opera's quality looks bad.
     
  6. mburwen

    mburwen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    138
    8
    36
    Petaluma,CA,USA
    I get YouTube stuff OK. It is the full-screen streaming HD movies that fail on my system (running Tim's 4e). Not just Netflix, but also other services like HBO GO won't work. I also tried a couiple of European movie sites (forget the names) and they failed too. My intuition says that it is a performance issue - not enough horsepower in the Flytouch. My sister's iPad 1 works perfectly, however, and that does not have the fastest CPU either, so who knows.
     
  7. weltall

    weltall Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011

    Jun 26, 2011
    194
    14
    38
    Apple unlike any other company does not give much weight to hardware but all weight goes to software. So if the cpu is 1gh with 512 ram apple makes the tablet to use every since drop of its power to the max. The rest company just throw in some mediocre coded OS that can hardly use 50% of the hardware effectively.
     
  8. mburwen

    mburwen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    138
    8
    36
    Petaluma,CA,USA
    Weltall, if you are correct, maybe there is hope that someone will fix the OS to provide enough power for movie apps (if power is indeed the problem). Since Google fixed the paid apps problem, and I found solutions to the speaker and WiFi reception problems, the only significant shortcoming of the Flytouch for me is the inability to play streamed full-screen HD movies.
     
  9. tbod

    tbod Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    247
    36
    43
    Hi,

    They have? Details please...
     
  10. EvilEd209

    EvilEd209 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    46
    5
    16

    Agreed. It teases you with an HDMI output and you think that you might be able to pull of video out from it, say on your NetFlix account but alas, it is not meant to be.

    Overall this is a pretty good tablet so this little complaint of NetFlix not working is more a want and not a need for me and a $200 tablet. But how cool would it be if you could get it to work?

    Also, I have only tested the video on the YouTube app but that works. I also hit a few 'other' sites that stream video and those seem to be a mixed bag. Some worked, some did not. So I am sure one fix will lead to another.

    Ed
     
  11. mburwen

    mburwen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    138
    8
    36
    Petaluma,CA,USA
    See http://androidforums.com/gome-flyto...updated-paid-apps-showing-android-market.html

    The currently available (bootlegged?) version doesn't have movies which Google promises. When it does, will be interesting to see if they play on the FT3. It's all a bit strange. Google hasn't officially released the new Market App yet, but it is all over the Internet and is obviously supported by Google. It's obvious that Google is taking on Amazon and Apple headon. I suspect we will eventually see Android Apps showing up in the iTunes App Store and iPad/iPhone Apps on Amazon and Google Markets.
     

Share This Page

Loading...