1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Netflix now on the market

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Yeahha, Jul 19, 2011.

  1. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    Here is a big tease to some of you!

    It looks like netflix is now on the tb market link

    Says the bolt is officially supported however reports from stock users say otherwise. My guess would be the gb update is close.

    And now reports say it is! Enjoy!
     

    Advertisement

  2. sllyons007

    sllyons007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    14
    4
    16
    Yeah I can confirm. Running stock and was able to download from market. Will do everything but play video. Goes to loading screen then kicks back out to Que.
     
  3. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    The stock bolt still lacks the drm needed for netflix. You could root or wait for the ota. It sounds like the ota will be unrootable for at least a while so time is ticking
     
  4. Bomfy

    Bomfy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    218
    31
    63
    I squealed like a schoolgirl for a minute there. It works except for the actual video. You get a bunch of notifications about needed DRM.

    So now I have to get my ass off the pot and finally decide to root or not.
     
  5. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG

    I said it was a tease.

    TeamIRC and jcase tweeted about some people running the official gb ota so I think it is just around the corner. Quite a few roms are being developed with a new leaked gb base so if you stay stock you may be rocking gb soon.

    While I sit here and enjoy watching netflix on my gb rom :p
     
  6. JnEricsonx

    JnEricsonx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    470
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    470
    15
    38
    Oh...SON OF A FRAKKING SMEGGING FRELLING......
     
  7. Bomfy

    Bomfy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    218
    31
    63
    True, you did say that, just not in the title. Hence my squealing that was short lived. :D
     
  8. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    The title is 100% true, the statements on the market are most defiantly not true however
     
  9. robrecht

    robrecht Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    284
    41
    43
    Senior Manager, Scientific Communications (pharmac
    I saw jcase's tweets on July 15th and adrynalyne's posts on July 13th, but I don't have any more details about this new gb base that's been leaked. Can you please point me to any specific information?
     
  10. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    Not much about the base che out the new sticky on this section wormdoes has quoted him. Also the gingeritis 1.2 thread in the root section. Chingy says it isnt the OTA but others say it is
     
    robrecht likes this.
  11. Sketchr

    Sketchr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    411
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    411
    141
    68
    Male
    It depends on what the definition of IS..is...

    :cool:
     
    SeekerOfTheWay likes this.
  12. jennay22

    jennay22 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    236
    22
    38
    VA
    WHYYYYYYY would you post something like this???? What have I ever done to you??????????:p
     
  13. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    Nothing against you. Everything I keep seeing makes it seem like the OTA for gb will be here soon, very soon. Once it hits you should be able to enjoy netflix, but until then you can at least manage your instant watch queue.
     
  14. Whatstreet

    Whatstreet Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011

    Apr 23, 2011
    251
    38
    43
    Male
    Engineer
    Fremont, CA
    I downloaded the Netflix app from the Market and tried it out. I setup it up for my account and tried to view a video. It started the player and then returned to the main menu.

    I found a DRM notification in the status bar along with an updates available notification. The updates available notification was for the Netflix app. I got the update and tried the Netflix app again.

    Now I can play video off Netflix! Get the update!

    Posted with my Thunderbolt.
     
    naildriver111 likes this.
  15. dguy

    dguy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    985
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    985
    277
    113
    Male
    Yeah, Netflix had an update today and now it works on the Thunderbolt stock.
     
  16. slimjoe

    slimjoe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    107
    25
    43
    Same, I downloaded it this morning (which was their old version) but after updating to 1.3 it works on a stock MR2 (OTA) phone.
     
  17. scooby15

    scooby15 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011

    Apr 28, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Maryland
    Yep working right now for me no problem...sweet!
     
  18. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    Updated OP.
     
  19. cultldr

    cultldr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    307
    63
    53
    Houston, TX

    working like a charm now with the new update, woo hoo!
     
  20. jennay22

    jennay22 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    236
    22
    38
    VA
    Yay! just downloaded and Wonder Pets resumed, kids were watching it last on the iPod :). HBO GO and now Netflix and I just started using Evernote (no idea why I waited so long for that one). Can't believe that my TB can do so many things now. We just need Skype and it will be perfect, oh and GB of course. I can see myself holding on to this phone for a very long time.
     
  21. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    I still the the GB OTA is coming soon. I think skype is also being worked on.
     
  22. maurogal

    maurogal Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    :DNetflix WORKSSSS :Don my thunderbolt (after so many tries) I modify the build.prop. I run the Banf Remix 1.6.3 (not Gingerbread)and this is part of the build.prop I modified:

    ro.product.model=Nexus One
    ro.product.brand=google
    ro.product.name=passion
    ro.product.device=passion
    ro.product.board=mahimahi
    ro.product.cpu.abi=armeabi-v7a
    ro.product.manufacturer=HTC
    ro.product.locale.language=hdpi
    ro.product.locale.region=
    ro.wifi.channels=
    ro.board.platform=msm7x30
    # ro.build.product is obsolete; use ro.product.device
    ro.build.product=google

    Good Luck to everybody and let me know if it worked!
    (Sorry if I also must say that you are modifying at your own risk and I'm not responsible in case of a wrong outcome)


    :)
     
  23. willdogs

    willdogs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    665
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    665
    211
    113
    Um, after today's Official Netflix update, Netflix now works for the Thunderbolt natively (Without Modification or Root)

    Netflix now Officially works on the Thunderbolt.
     
    Whatstreet likes this.
  24. Shhh

    Shhh Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    7
    1
    6
    Yup, just got an update notice on the stock market app and it works great after doing it. I'm on a stock t-bolt.
    Cheers all
     
  25. BassGear

    BassGear Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    21
    1
    36
    Cali
    Works perfect for me! Yah!
     

Share This Page

Loading...