1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Netflix on G Tablet?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Zebulon, Feb 18, 2011.

  1. Zebulon

    Zebulon Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    It seems that I read on here of a guy who was able to stream video from the Netflix site from his G Tablet. Does anyone know how to do this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    I don't know about streaming directly from the site but PlayOn can stream from your PC to the g-tab as long as you have it installed on both.

    https://market.android.com/details?id=com.playon.playonapp

    Works well for me, but I can't wait for the official netflix app to be released.
     
  3. kimkgk

    kimkgk Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    76
    3
    16
    I sure could go for a Netflix app. Any clue when they will make one available? Something about objecting to security or platform stability or some nonsense wasn't there?
     
  4. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    xmr405o likes this.
  5. kimkgk

    kimkgk Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    76
    3
    16
    Sounds like money might be involved. What security issue is there to a streaming service? Netflix is denying a super large group. Apple paying someone? If you want Netflix you must buy an IPod.....bunch of XXXXXX.
     
  6. rushmore

    rushmore Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    If the Tegra 2 has the required DRM hardware code in the chipset, the actual Netflix app should be a go- lot of Tegra 2 devices coming. If no DRM- aint happening.
     
  7. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
  8. kimkgk

    kimkgk Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    76
    3
    16
    I can't tell if all current devices are out or if the gtab that has the Tetra 2 might be able to work. Drm can't be added in some way seems wrong. Its just software.
     
  9. freedom1911

    freedom1911 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    37
    5
    16
    Excuse is a load of clap.
    The Roku box runs a straight Linux OS, and so does PlayStation3. As a linux OS they maybe open source. But the app that runs it does not have to be licensed open source. The OS community would b***h up a storm for the app not being open, but linux apps can be closed licensed and even sold.
    Open source, free software does not mean free of cost (though it is most of the time).
     
  10. kenyu73

    kenyu73 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    196
    38
    43
    Computer Engineer
    Upstate, NY
    Tegra 2 should have Netflix support at some point...

    NVIDIA Tegra Super Chip Kicks Up Next Wave of Super Phones - NVIDIA Newsroom

     
    SolidOrange likes this.
  11. gradu

    gradu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    4
    2
    6
    Hooray! When I ran NetFlix last night to add a movie to the queue, it told me that there was an update available. I installed the update and it said that streaming was now available. Viola! it works!

    G-Tab OS -- Vegan-Tab
    NetFlix version -- 1.3.0 Build 246-91 {found at the very bottom of the home screen...}

    I've just started a blog about my G-Tab experiences...
    See it here:

    Tech problems and solutions: NetFlix streaming now works on the G-Tab!
     
  12. FatDog

    FatDog Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    10
    2
    36
    Software Developer
    LA
    So - you used your GTab to browse the Netflix site and it showed you the app or did you already have the Netflix app and it gave you the update?

    When I hit the Marketplace - it detects I am using a GTab and wont even show me the Netflix app. When I tried to use my PC to d/l the app so I could try sideloading - it sent the app to my Droid phone.
     
  13. allstar1579

    allstar1579 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    5
    1
    6
    Go here New Netflix Version 1.3 Works On Honeycomb Tablets, Download It Here - Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog on your GTab web browser and DL the .apk directly. Worked like a charm for me.
     
    caufield likes this.
  14. gradu

    gradu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    4
    2
    6
    I had installed the app from the market. At first it would not stream...after updated app, streaming works. Early this evening Netflix site was very slow and did not work that well. Later works fine...
     
    caufield and FatDog like this.
  15. FatDog

    FatDog Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    10
    2
    36
    Software Developer
    LA
    Allstar & gradu - thank you both. I d/l the app and side loaded it and suddenly everything worked. I can now access my Netflix account and watch shows. I did not even have to update.

    (In fact - I will try to avoid updates unless I start having problems) :)
     
  16. pwndecaf

    pwndecaf Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    19
    0
    15
    Engineer CMRP
    Wisconsin
    I installed the download listed on the Asus Transformer thread on my stock Asus. It worked! Feeling lucky, I also installed it on my stock GTab. It worked! Joy in Muddville.

    com.netflix.mediaclient_246_hctweaks.apk
     
  17. FatDog

    FatDog Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    10
    2
    36
    Software Developer
    LA
    UPDATE: I have been happaly watching shows on Netflix on my GTab for several weeks.

    Every time I start the Netflix app - it nags me that an update is available and offers to get the update. I hit CANCEL and am able to get to my que and watch things.

    Today - it gave a new message: I MUST update to continue using the app. When I hit CANCEL - the app exits. When I hit OK - it pauses then a dialog informing me "Requested file not found". (I turned off the option to install apps from un-trusted sources.)

    So I went to the Marketplace and did an Update. It claimed it would 'remember' my settings but when I fired up the app - it forced me to re-enter my account information.

    To my surprise:

    • The new app now displays it's menu based on the tablet position. (The old app only displayed in portraiture mode.)
    • The Episode menu popped right up (the old app took several seconds and sometimes reported that there were errors accessing the Episode menu)
    • When I started a episode - the screen went blank and seemed to hang. I touched the screen to bring up the controls and dragged the scroll bar a bit - and the show started.

    So for the moment - the latest update does work on my GTab with Gingerbread/Vegan port.
     
  18. pwndecaf

    pwndecaf Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    19
    0
    15
    Engineer CMRP
    Wisconsin
    I installed the update last weekend, I think, and it works. Nothing to fear.

    Stock honeycomb 3.2.1 on my Asus. I need to try it on my GTab yet. I haven't tried that as it does not access the Market. I had it sideloaded.
     
  19. Prime85

    Prime85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    800
    201
    93
    I have never had a problem running Netflix on my grab. I use flashback 10
     
  20. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
  21. Airabus711

    Airabus711 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011

    Nov 19, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Greetings, I have been running net flix via the 1.3 Apk and it was going great on my tablet. In the past I could just ignore the upgrade request and it would start up.

    Now the upgrade will not get out of the way. I attempted to use several of the new apps and they have all failed. So up graded to flash 10.2, again same issue. I tried the 2.0 version of netflix and it worked the same way.

    Has anyone had the same problems?
     
  22. pwndecaf

    pwndecaf Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    19
    0
    15
    Engineer CMRP
    Wisconsin
    I am running everything stock on mine and the recent release of NetFlix on Amazon Apps, which is 1.5.2 I think, runs fine. I had been using a side-loaded version and then had updated from there. This one replaced the original side-loaded one.

    You don't say if you are running stock or you have rooted your device.
     
  23. Airabus711

    Airabus711 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011

    Nov 19, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Nope its completely stock 1.1 build....I'm trying to deside if I want to use the New TNT Lite or the Gtabcomb build.
     
  24. Prime85

    Prime85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    800
    201
    93

    Gtabcomb has been abandoned since July. If you use a honeycomb rom go with flashback.
     
  25. Airabus711

    Airabus711 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011

    Nov 19, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    The 1.5.2 Netflix apk did the trick.. So its up and running on the original 1.1 gtab rom.
     

Share This Page

Loading...