1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root Netflix Won't Play

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Zumaki, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. Zumaki

    Zumaki Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #331
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    577
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    577
    26
    68
    I have the newest version of the app from the market. Loads up fine, lets me log in and see my queue. But when I try to watch something, it keeps dropping back to the queue after it finishes buffering. Tried reinstalling 3x now, no luck.

    Help.

    I run stock rooted 2.3, got it the week the update came out.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,596
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,596
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    how is your signal strength? have you tried it on wifi? which software version are you on?
     
  3. Zumaki

    Zumaki Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #331
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    577
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    577
    26
    68
    It's whatever version the market has, and I've tried it on all kinds of signals and wifi.

    Every time, it loads the video, I get a flash of the video, and then it drops back to the queue.
     
  4. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,596
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,596
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    what software version do you have? if you have 4.22 try and update it to 4.24. htc released a maintenance ota to help fix issues among others, netflix
     
  5. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,768
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,768
    1,812
    693
    Male
    USA
    Is your Flash updated?
     
  6. Zumaki

    Zumaki Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #331
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    577
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    577
    26
    68
    Netflix 1.2.2, flash 10.3, no avail updates according to"check for updates" or "htc software update."

    Running 2.3.3 gingerbread. Software number 4.22.651.2
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,596
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,596
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    try wiping dalvik cache and cache. anytime i get bugs, error, and glitches and such that usually helps. also you may want to flash the 4.24 update. it has the netflix fix included.
     
  8. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    You can always flash a ROM that's already updated to the 4.24 build.
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,596
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,596
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ooops i meant rom not update. thanx do not do or accept the ota. you can just flash the rom that frenchy mentioned.
     
  10. lesawag

    lesawag Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    268
    26
    43
    Maintaining peace in my world
    Austin Texas
    I'm having the exact issue as well. It worked a week or so ago, but now starts to play and flashes back to movie selection. How do I find the update for adobe flash player? Looks like I have older version. Thanks
    I deleted the old version and the newer version will not install from the market...odd
     
  11. Zumaki

    Zumaki Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #331
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    577
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    577
    26
    68
    Any of you fine fellow posters willing to do me the huge favor of linking me to, say, the xda page that has a 'stock root' 4.24 update? That, or I'd be interested in a vanilla Gingerbread ROM if it won't wipe my apps/settings. Sense is kinda getting old.

    I would click the hell out of the Thank button if someone can link me :)
     
  12. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,596
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,596
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    Zumaki likes this.
  13. Zumaki

    Zumaki Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #331
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    577
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    577
    26
    68
    I haven't had a lot of time to lurk the boards here lately (that's why I asked for a link rather than looking myself), so I didn't even know there was a board for ROMs. But thank you!

    /vows to lurk moar

    Update: Not only is Netflix working now that I re-flashed, I also got voice search working! Thank you again!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...