1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Support Network problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tripwire's_hero, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. tripwire's_hero

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    74
    3
    16
    Designer
    Los Angeles
    Hey all,
    just got my GS 4G last night, and am noticing today that I am getting very poor reception, and the 4G network almost never comes on. I am in a suburb of Los Angeles, so I'm not sure if it's a coverage issue, or a radio issue.

    also, I am getting a "E" symbol in the notification bar next to the data arrows (as opposed to the "4G". is this indicating EDGE network coverage?! (not even 3G) or is it indicating EVDO (basically 3G)?

    thanks
    trip
     

    Advertisement

  2. tripwire's_hero

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    74
    3
    16
    Designer
    Los Angeles
    checking the t-mobile.com coverage maps, I'm supposed to be in an area that gets "excellent coverage" and "highest speed mobile internet"... Hmmm.
     
  3. mikejaret

    mikejaret Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    H is the 4g network, you should go swap phones immediately!
     
  4. Cyshes

    Cyshes Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I'm having the same problem in new york suburb. I had 4G in my apartment last night, but now I'm only getting the E, which is really slow. Let me if you are able to resolve. Thanks.
     
  5. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC
    Any changes guys....I'm in NYC and really thinking about giving this phone a try!
     
  6. Cyshes

    Cyshes Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I love this phone, but my signal keeps bouncing to Edge. I could be outside and in the same spot. It was also having this problem in manhattan, which should be excellent signal. I asked a friend with the mytouch and G2 and sounds like they have similar problems. So it might be tmobile. But I wonder if other networks have this problem...
     
  7. mavictb

    mavictb Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    230
    15
    58
    Reno, NV
    I get similar reception as my vibrant. better reception than an iPhone or droidX.... so im not sure what the problem here is.
     
  8. tripwire's_hero

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    74
    3
    16
    Designer
    Los Angeles
    almost 1 week in, and I'm still having the same issues. Very poor coverage, and I can be standing in one spot, and the phone will switch from 4G to E on the network.

    several calls to tech support and a sim card check have not yielded anything. Will try to swap the device tonight, and if that doesn't work, I'm using the 30 day period allowed by california law to say adios to t-mobile!
     
  9. Cyshes

    Cyshes Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Let me know if the new phone works any better. We only have a 14 day period, and if anything it seems the signal is getting worse. Thank you.
     
  10. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Android Expert
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,164
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,164
    2,453
    443
    Have you got wifi on? I turned mine on and everything disappeared except the wifi symbol. Phone says it's using Edge. However, if I turn the wifi off, the 4G signal appears. I'm almost sitting on the router.
    Z
     
  11. Cyshes

    Cyshes Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Usually I try to keep wifi off. But when it goes to edge I turn it on. I've tried rebooting and switching wifi on and off to get 4G back with no luck
     
  12. tripwire's_hero

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    74
    3
    16
    Designer
    Los Angeles
    make sure you were given the right sim card!

    I went into the shop to swap the device, and the clerk checked the sim, and it wasn't the newer "micro sim" or something. looked like the contact points were a different shape.

    she popped it in, activated it and 2 minutes later I had full 4G at 5-6mbps on wireless data!
     
  13. mavictb

    mavictb Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    230
    15
    58
    Reno, NV
    glad to hear thats all it was.... now enjoy your kick @$$ device =)
     
  14. AustinTech

    AustinTech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #201
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    598
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    598
    97
    108
    Alpharetta, GA (ATL)

    Good for you man! :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...