1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Network signal dropping

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DMB1, Jun 4, 2011.

  1. DMB1

    DMB1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Anyone having problems with their network dropping? I'm on o2 (N. Ireland) and at times my network just drops to no signal, it takes me to turn my phone on and off to pick up the network again. Looking at my battery usage and into cell standby over the past day i've been without a signal for 3 hours. It's definitely not the sim card as i've put it in my old phone and it works fine and doesnt lose signal ever.
    This cant be right should i take it back for a new handset as its only a week old?

    I absolutely love this phone by the way.
     

    Advertisement

  2. AntMcl

    AntMcl Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    27
    3
    16
    UK
    Never had this issue with my IS, but I did have the problem on my old Legend. This may not be the case with you, by I noticed that the signal was dropping when the phone was switching between 2G and 3G; I went to the dialer and put in *#*#4636#*#*, then under 'phone information' changed my preferred network type to GSM auto (PRL). This seemed to solve the issue on my Legend; not sure if it will work for you but worth a try.
     
  3. plom3

    plom3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    18
    1
    16
  4. plom3

    plom3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    18
    1
    16
    Just read antmcl's response, same thing, worked wonders for me!
     
  5. AntMcl

    AntMcl Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    27
    3
    16
    UK
    As I say, it's only a fix if the phone is dropping signal specifically when switching between 2 and 3G. Glad your problem's solved. I use GSM auto all the time on my IS even though it doesn't have the dropout problem.
     
  6. djbenny1

    djbenny1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    17
    0
    15
    am i missing something??

    changing this setting DOES turn off your 3g completely doesnt it???
     
  7. AntMcl

    AntMcl Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    27
    3
    16
    UK
    No, 'GSM Only' turns off 3G. 'GSM Auto (PRL)' does not.
     
  8. c4rolk1dd

    c4rolk1dd Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011

    Oct 4, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I also am on O2 in NI and have had my Incredible S for 4 weeks. I also lose my network frequently and have to search for networks and manually connect to O2 to get service again. Also people phone me and I do not get a ring or a missed call but the people ringing get the ringing tone and eventually the answer phone. I complained to O2 who gave me a new SIM card but I still have the problem, they now say it is a handset issue. I am off to the carphone warehouse tomorrow to see what they say. I have also complained to HTC but haven't heard back from them yet. I am so disappointed, I loved my Desire and was so looking forward to another HTC.
     

Share This Page

Loading...