1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root *New* (8/19) GB RUU

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by WormDoes, Aug 19, 2011.

  1. Thats

    Thats That guy is This
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    1,169
    383
    183
    Male
    Air Force
    Fargo, ND
    Thanks for the combined! Worked like a CHAMP!
     

    Advertisement

  2. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    You're welcome :)
     
  3. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    new radios seem good to me,too,despite bein on the crappy leak RUU. i left 4g on all day and it worked fantastically,but ive only got 9 hours 46 min on this charge,and the last 2 hours of it are only because im back home in wifi and havent touched it. if i had stayed out in 4g id have barely gotten over 7 hours. :eek:
     
    Ibrick likes this.
  4. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I'm experiencing wonderful battery life since flashing this new radio.

    Fair warning, it could be Imoseyon's 3.5.8 kernel I switched to, but I switched 2 days ago and didn't have these results Friday pre radio

    My phone has been on WiFi all day, fairly heavy use, lots of calls (trying to track down a HP Touchpad :mad:) browsing, texts, twitter, etc. I'm at 7h 23m up and 82% battery :)

    edit: pretty much the same usage minus the calls, with 4G on for 2 hours, 11h 16m up 68% battery
     
    Ibrick likes this.
  5. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    No numbers but I'm on imo .8 and battery seems about the same perhaps a bit better but nothing outstanding
     
    Ibrick likes this.
  6. Ibrick

    Ibrick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    983
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    983
    208
    93
    Banking
    Milwaukee
    New radio, and 3.5.8 have been great for me battery wise as well. 3.5.11 I could squeeze out about 12 hours normally, back on 3.5.8 and I'm plugging the phone in at like 15+ with to 35% - 40% left.

    It was getting to the point I kept checking for apps that maybe changed settings on me or something. After I read other people having the same experience, I switched back. Standby especially would kill me on 3.5.11, where now its back to practically stationary.
     
  7. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    Since I'm kernel stupid I never made it to .11,lol. I read this stuff and thot "oh crap I Better change back,too" checked my SD card and it was still .8 :eek :
     
  8. Tboltfan25

    Tboltfan25 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    275
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    275
    8
    36
    NJ

    Everything still good for you ibrick? I haven't booted into hboot yet because my md5 didn't match worms exactly, but then I saw your post and my md5 match yours exactly (2 extra 4) am I safe to flash this new radio?
     
  9. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163
    I used worms radio package. No problems here.

    I also tried the ROM cause,well, I'm bored. I could NOT get wireless tether to work. Back to uber bamf p3.
     
  10. Ibrick

    Ibrick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    983
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    983
    208
    93
    Banking
    Milwaukee

    Working like a champ. Very stable radio, signal is slightly improved over the last leak it seems.

    I verified the md5 on my comp as well and got the same as I posted, so 3 downloads from 2 sources all matched. If the md5 you get matches mine, flash away. I also posted a link to this thread on rootzwiki, and no one mentioned it not matching, so I'd say you're safe.
     
  11. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Currently at 393 downloads :eek:
     
  12. slimjoe

    slimjoe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    107
    25
    43
    With the new radio (vs the MR2 OTA) I've been finding that when I manually switch my phone from 4G to 3G, it takes a LONG time for it to find and connect to the 3G network. For now... I've flashed back to MR2 OTA and everything seems good again.

    Edit: Nevermind, it seems like it was just something over the weekend. The MR2 OTA radio was exhibiting the same behavior until Sunday night after which I reapplied this new radio and everything seems okay now.
     
  13. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    Unless you flashed radios in hboot you are still on the new radios.

    Worm, Scotty, iBrick, McLabia, whoever else answers what will we be calling these radios MR3, 726, 802, GB?
     
    Tboltfan25 likes this.
  14. Ibrick

    Ibrick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    983
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    983
    208
    93
    Banking
    Milwaukee
    I've just been calling them 704, 802 etc. The mr2 mr2.5 kinda screwed it up when the official mr2 was pushed.
     
  15. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    yeah thats what ive been doin too. i have to look at my "how to id radios" chart to figure out what baseband was what nickname. im pretty easily confused,tho :eek::D
     
  16. slimjoe

    slimjoe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    107
    25
    43
    So, are you referring to the radios by the last set of digits in the LTE radio version?
     
  17. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    I think the last one was 704 from the cdma radio lye was 703. Which would make these the 726, but I think people are referring to it as 802
     
  18. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
  19. thesalg

    thesalg Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I just want to clarify....I recently used revolutionary to get root, still running Stock rom 2.2.1 radio's 1.39.00.0627r, 0.01.69.0625r. If I run the RUU executable will I still have root and the updated stock rom and radio's?

    ...I'm honestly planning on trying either the uber bamf p3 rom. Should I just flash the rom, then flash these new radio's and be done with it?? Thanks
     
  20. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    I would suggest you flash the radio and rom not bothering with the RUU, generally the less you need to flash in hboot the safer you are. And the new radio should be safe for you to flash, I have not had issues with it and haven't seen reports of anyone who has.
     
    thesalg likes this.
  21. thesalg

    thesalg Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Great thank you, Would you suggest rom first, then radio without rebooting? or other way around? I know to wipe dalvik cache, full wipe,and all that etc..
     
  22. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    Well you have to flash the radio in hboot. I would suggest downloading both and installing the radio, rebooting then install the rom. After the radio install you need to delete the PG05IMG.zip off the SD so you can get back to recovery thru hboot.
     
  23. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    ill second this. if you really have no intention of running the stock rom,just flash the radios. flashing the full ruu is more risky,and more time consuming. plus youll have to reinstall your recovery,and flash superuser to be rooted on that rom,as running the .exe will unroot you(but leave your s-off).not a big deal if you want to run it a few days and check it out,but if you mainly want the radios,just flash those and then flash the rom you want to run. :)
     
  24. Tboltfan25

    Tboltfan25 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    275
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    275
    8
    36
    NJ
    Just for anyone who's considering this, I flashed the new radios (thanks to worms combined zip he posted for us, and have had no issues whatsoever...haven't noticed a difference from the previous leak to be honest, but no issues at all
     

Share This Page

Loading...