• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help New and have some questions.

I am new to the Android World I am coming from a BlackBerry Bold which just died on me and I want something new. I decided on Android and this phone mostly because of ratio of features to price. Now I will be picking this phone up in the very near future and until then I have some questions.

1. Why is their a Samsung Galaxy Light and a Samsung Spica forum? Aren't both these phones the same thing?
2. I will be buying this phone from Rogers and would like the update to 2.1. Is their an official update I can use? Are there any custom OS updates which work better with the phone? I don't think I mind rooting the phone as I am pretty good with technology over all but I just want to get the most out of this phone as possible.
3. How is the phone for gaming and apps? I saw some videos of it on Youtube and some games were really lagy. Also are there any apps that won't work on this phone?
4. Is the screen glass? Does the phone overall scratch easily?
5. Are there any recommendations anyone can give me?
6. What is your personal opinion about this phone? A little review stating what you like about it and what you don't would be greatly appreciated. Please state what OS.

I usually don't make these type of posts but this phone doesn't seem to be very popular and it's very hard to find many personal reviews/opinions of the phone.
If I have any more questions I'll post here.

Hi & welcome to the forum.

1. I don't know why there are different forums! Yes, the Galaxy lite/portal/Spica are the same device!

2. There are loads of roms around, you just need to read about each one but most are happy with the official 2.1 release. Some people are skeptical about roms & what looks to be official might not be. I haven't looked into this much so hopefully, someone more enlightened will be along to help!