1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

New Android; Switching from Iphone 4 (Help!)

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Spooned, Aug 8, 2012.

1. Spooned

Spooned Lurker

Hey there everyone! I'd first off like to say that these forums seem to be pretty amazing. I've had quite a few questions about my android and every time I google it, it seems to bring me to these forums. Great community it seems! So thanks in advance!

Currently, I've been using an Iphone for the past 2 years. It's simple to use, quite functional and I've never had a problem with it.

Last week, I decided to pick up a Samsung Galaxy S2X (Hercules) just so I could play around with it and get some diversity. First impressions of the phone were good, however I was getting quite a few problems with it.

First thing I did was factory reset the phone. I then updated it to 4.0.3 through Samsung Kies.

Once this was done, I noticed quite a few problems including interface lag, messaging glitches, among other things. Long story short, I did another factory reset (It reset to 4.0.3) and it fixed every issue.

At this point, the only issues I'm having with the phone is the battery life of it. I can understand that when it's on, it will be sucking battery life like an original GameBoy... But when I click the lock button, it still seems to be sucking battery like crazy.

I've searched lots and did things like installed JuiceDefender which seems to help. Currently, I'm getting about 60 hours of standby time. This is with no use of the phone and having it just sit there.

In comparison to my Iphone, this seems VERY short. That being said, I understand android works in a different manner. Apps are still using battery even when the phone is locked...