1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

new android user - wondering what tablet, and what apps for a music teacher/musician

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by jasonbmerrill, Apr 11, 2012.

1. jasonbmerrill

jasonbmerrill Newbie

Hello,

I am a musician and a music teacher who wishes to use an android tablet for 2 main purposes:

1. to teach music - if I could display short scores on it, or music theory interactive lessons, it would help me, as well as keeping tabs on my students.

2. more importantly, to display lyrics and put on a stand at gigs... I need to have a widescreen flipped long ways so that i can see entire songs, with chords if needed. Being able to open up rtf, pdf, doc, docx is a must.

I would also love to use it for recording, but i dont know what devices would work on it, and i heard low latency audio for android kinda sucks.

so I have an acer iconia 200 tablet - planning on trying or just buying the transformer prime tablet tomorrow.

what do you think? what apps do I need? what's a good tablet for me?

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. IOWA

IOWA Mr. Logic Pants

How do you plan on allowing everyone to see the screen? The screens aren't that big and aren't visible unless you're within a few feet of the device. I mean, it is, but not legible if it's small text or what have you.

3. jasonbmerrill

jasonbmerrill Newbie

excellent point, but no, I am actually just in one on one lessons at a conservatory, so it would only need to be on a stand within 5 feet or so.

4. IOWA

IOWA Mr. Logic Pants

Oh very good then =)

Will it actually be playing music or will it just be used as a visual aide?

5. jasonbmerrill

jasonbmerrill Newbie

A visual aide, but if I were to play music I would probably use an external amp anyway. It's speakers don't mean too much. I might access youtube from it.

6. IOWA

IOWA Mr. Logic Pants