1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

New Battery Capacity vs. Software

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DjMikeWatt, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. DjMikeWatt

    DjMikeWatt Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    12
    0
    15
    I just bought a new extended battery for my Vibrant (running 2.2.) My question is, will my phone's software recognize the difference in capacity or not? Basically, will the batter indicator % be accurate or will it still be based on a 1500 mAh battery?

    Does that make sense?

    Also, I'd certainly appreciate any responses, however, I'd really prefer responses only if you actually *know* something about it... I can assume that it would work fine, but I don't have the detailed knowledge of Android to know for sure.

    THANKS, community!
     

    Advertisement

  2. kacol16

    kacol16 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    122
    11
    38
    P(r)oland
    it should work fine. although i would advise you to use the Battery Calibration app
     
  3. DjMikeWatt

    DjMikeWatt Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    12
    0
    15
    Thanks for the heads up. I didn't even know about those battery calibration apps. There is a problem, though... I currently have 2.2 on my phone and have been unable to root. I've yet to find an easy root for 2.2 (always comes up as unsigned something or other.)

    Do any of the apps work without root access? Or, does anyone know if there is a good root process that will work on 2.2?
     
  4. zilla19

    zilla19 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    107
    23
    38
  5. DjMikeWatt

    DjMikeWatt Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    12
    0
    15
    I'm having trouble with this. I've downloaded the package *with* drivers. When I plug in my phone it says that it's an unrecognized device (debugging is on). When I choose driver details in settings it says no driver is installed. When I choose to update it and I point it to the samsung drivers folder, it tells me that "the best driver is already installed."

    Which file should I choose to force the driver update? They're not exactly named in plain english.

    Thanks for you help so far.
     
  6. boymeetsfence

    boymeetsfence Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I found this thread after buying a new 3500mAh extended battery for my vibrant. I am charging the phone right now and will run the calibration as soon as it hits 100% then come post my results on here after a whole day of usage! Thanks for the info :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...