1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

New channels version improves all the things - Channels

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Rob, Dec 29, 2016.

  1. Rob

    Rob I'm tellin' mommy on you!
    Administrator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    563
    Posts:
    2,083
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008

    Mar 26, 2008
    2,083
    3,439
    563
    Androiding
    The change log says that the new version of channels improves all the things and boy is that right.

    News related to your phone and apps, attachments, it's got lots of great stuff in here let us know what you think in the replies!
     

    Advertisement

    MLSS and steve like this.
  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,530
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,530
    28,558
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Why does "about" still list it as a beta?
     
  3. steve

    steve Developer
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    573
    Posts:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    1,072
    1,139
    573
    Male
    Android Developer
    York, PA
    We still are considering the app as beta because we are still making major changes to the core functionality of the app.

    I think it will soon be time to get rid of the BETA :)
     
    psionandy and lunatic59 like this.
  4. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,897
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,897
    34,669
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    OK Google. :p
     
  5. PitCarver

    PitCarver Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #248
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    285
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015

    Jul 3, 2015
    285
    189
    88
    Male
    Reinstalled Channels after developer replied to my rating on the PlayStore.

    This is what I got... Screenshot_2016-12-29-10-41-47~01.png
     
    Rob likes this.
  6. steve

    steve Developer
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    573
    Posts:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    1,072
    1,139
    573
    Male
    Android Developer
    York, PA
    @PitCarver - thanks for the feedback! So, just to be clear....This was a new install and not an update?
     
    Bg260 likes this.
  7. PitCarver

    PitCarver Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #248
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    285
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015

    Jul 3, 2015
    285
    189
    88
    Male
    Reinstalled

    Uninstalled then reinstalled. Same result. Submitted bug report.
     
    Bg260 and steve like this.
  8. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,640
    1,168
    393
    NYC
    Same FC happening here after updating. Cleared cache and data, no difference.
    Android 4.4.2.
     
    Bg260 and steve like this.
  9. steve

    steve Developer
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    573
    Posts:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    1,072
    1,139
    573
    Male
    Android Developer
    York, PA
    I pushed an update that should resolve all of your 4.4.2 crashes. Thanks for the feedback!
     
    Bg260 likes this.
  10. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,640
    1,168
    393
    NYC
    Sorry but no go on that "fix" update. Still FC's. If I clear cache and data I can get as far as logging in but as soon as I select the account it crashes.
     
  11. steve

    steve Developer
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    573
    Posts:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    1,072
    1,139
    573
    Male
    Android Developer
    York, PA
    Roger that. I checked the crash and it seems it's a memory issue so when I get a chance I'll reduce sizes of some images for older devices. It is most likely the intro images causing the issue.

    I'm surprised since I tested on a few older phones myself running 4.4.2.

    Thanks for the update!
     
  12. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,640
    1,168
    393
    NYC
    Thanks, I'll be waiting for more updates. Mine's an S5 if that helps.
     
  13. PitCarver

    PitCarver Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #248
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    285
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015

    Jul 3, 2015
    285
    189
    88
    Male
    S5 as well, running 6.0.1...
     
  14. steve

    steve Developer
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    573
    Posts:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    1,072
    1,139
    573
    Male
    Android Developer
    York, PA
    @Fox Mulder and @PitCarver
    Could you guys give this apk a try? I changed the way the intro wizard loads the images... I am hoping this resolve the issue but have a few more ideas if you still have issues. Please clear app cache or uninstall before you try just to make sure that doesn't cause the crash.

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,640
    1,168
    393
    NYC
    Just tried it, so far so good.
    Is it supposed to know what "My Device" is, or is there a way to tell it?
     
    steve likes this.
  16. steve

    steve Developer
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    573
    Posts:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    1,072
    1,139
    573
    Male
    Android Developer
    York, PA
    We are approving devices as they come in and most get auto approved or already approved. In your case, your device should be approved so try to reopen the app... might be a first load issue that I need to fix.

    Let me know.
     
  17. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,640
    1,168
    393
    NYC
    Nope. The tutorial that came up at first load showed S5, but My Device shows posts about other phones.
     
  18. steve

    steve Developer
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    573
    Posts:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    1,072
    1,139
    573
    Male
    Android Developer
    York, PA
    Mind trying to go into settings from the "My Stuff" tab, then sending the db? I will be able to see what is going on a little more then.

    It's odd since it detected your phone at startup and then uses the generic like it was not detected.
     
  19. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,481
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,481
    11,846
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    I tried Channels, just sits spinning around and doesn't do anything. Phone is Chinese version Oppo R9 Plusm, I take it this device isn't approved and allowed access yet.

    channels.jpg
     
  20. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,640
    1,168
    393
    NYC
    Ok db sent.
    I almost couldn't find the settings because the icon is white on a white background. Same for my name on the My Stuff page. More readable fonts and icons would be nice, perhaps a dark theme option like Early Bird?
     
  21. steve

    steve Developer
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    573
    Posts:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    1,072
    1,139
    573
    Male
    Android Developer
    York, PA
    Regardless if your device is approved or not, you should still be able to use the app. I check the logs and it shows two calls from you that said you're not logged in. Not exactly sure how that happened but could you try to clear cache and use Google to log in again?
     
  22. PitCarver

    PitCarver Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #248
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    285
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015

    Jul 3, 2015
    285
    189
    88
    Male
    I'm in also, and agree that the settings icon needs to be more readable.
     
  23. steve

    steve Developer
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    573
    Posts:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    1,072
    1,139
    573
    Male
    Android Developer
    York, PA
    Regarding the settings button... It should look like this.

    Could one of you show what it looks like for you? Oh, and dark theme will so come :)
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,640
    1,168
    393
    NYC
    Posting from the PC right now so I can't show a screenshot, but the blue background isn't loading- it's just white. Since the font is also white the result is kinda like finding a polar bear in the snow. ;)
     
    steve likes this.
  25. steve

    steve Developer
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    573
    Posts:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    1,072
    1,139
    573
    Male
    Android Developer
    York, PA
    This should fix the following:
    • Device Generic having no icon
    • Not showing approved device channels (S5 should now show fine)
    • Header background not loading on 'My Stuff' tab

    Let me know how it works out for you two!... or anyone else having the same issues.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...