1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root New Clockwork 2.0.0.5 broken?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SirVilhelm, Jun 19, 2010.

  1. SirVilhelm

    SirVilhelm Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    280
    3
    36
    This morning I saw that there was an update to clockwork, version 2.0.0.5. I flashed it and tried to do a rom restore but couldn't get into recovery. I eventually had to flash back to the previous recovery and do the restore. Anyone else having this issue?
     

    Advertisement

  2. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    Yep, same thing happened to me, but I was going to make a backup. I even flashed alternate recovery and back to the new clockwork and tried again, but no dice. I flashed back to 1.8.2.0 and successfully made my backup.
     
  3. Branndon

    Branndon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    481
    30
    43
    Website Developer
    Orange County, CA
    Yes, but with 2.0.0.4 last night. Installed 1.8,something and it worked.
     
  4. einyv

    einyv Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    78
    1
    16
    i have 2.04 installed and made successful backup. I won't upgrade to 2.05
     
  5. rdsok

    rdsok Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #424
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    256
    65
    53
    Did anyone attempt to flash to SPR and then back to the 2.0.0.5 CW and try it again? I just completed a backup on 2.0.0.5 without issue ( I didn't need to flash to SPR first ) so I wonder if what happed to the others reporting problems is similar to what's been reported on past CW issues.
     
  6. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010


    +1 mine is working fine.
     
  7. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    I just flashed 2.0.0.5 as well, and rebooted into recovery without a hitch. I'm thinking it might have been 2.0.0.4 that caused my initial problem.
     
  8. d33z

    d33z Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    12
    1
    16
    Wisconsin
    My Droid would not boot into clockwork recovery the first time that I flashed 2.0.0.5. So I flashed SPrecovery, then back to Clockwork 2.0.0.5, and was able to boot into Clockwork recovery and make a backup.
     
  9. nathan312

    nathan312 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    395
    25
    63
    Student
    Georgia
    +1...was trying to put Kangerade on but couldn't get into recovery so flashed SPRecovery and then back to 2.0.0.5 and voila...worked
     
  10. MahoVader

    MahoVader Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    53
    4
    16
    Professional opera tenor/IT techno geek/Pt time co
    New Hampshire
    CW 2.0.0.4 was giving me fits last night and today. YAY for the fixed update! No matter what I did I couldn't get into recovery, but it immediately worked on 2.0.0.5 :)

    ....on second thought, it may have been the update to Rom Manager, which prompted the CW update. At least it's all working again!
     
  11. NickAppleese

    NickAppleese Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    55
    2
    16
    I just flashed a Chevy kernel right now on 2.0.0.5 no problem. I'll try to make a backup of my BB ROM through ROM manager.

    *edit* Backing up seems to be successful as of right now (still going). Here's a question for you guys: Are you accessing CW through ROM manager, or manually booting into it? That could be the difference.
     
  12. mihalich

    mihalich Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    425
    44
    43
    South Orange County, CA
    2.0.0.5 is dead for me. Won't even boot into recovery. I flashed back to 2.0.0.3 and that is working ok.

    Joe
     
  13. condog

    condog Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    286
    5
    36
    Works for me just did a backup

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  14. steveo408

    steveo408 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    30
    0
    35
    Latest is broken for me, is 2.0.0.3 stable for most?
     
  15. mihalich

    mihalich Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    425
    44
    43
    South Orange County, CA
    2.0.0.3 is fine for me, on Kangerade/Chevy.
     
  16. shrugger

    shrugger Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    17
    1
    16
    Same problems here... 2.0.0.5 just hangs at the Motorola logo when I try to backup or install. After moving back to 2.0.0.3 all is well.
     
  17. steveo408

    steveo408 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    30
    0
    35
    Flash SP then Flash back to CWM..fixed the issue for me.
     
  18. mhome

    mhome Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    215
    10
    38
    Initially had issues rebooting to recovery from rom manager,that's resolved, always could get into it nanually (ctrlX).

    My problem is even though it appears to create backup, I can't find the backup anywhere. This only happens on rom manager, if I manually launch cmrecovery itworks fine.
     
  19. nathan312

    nathan312 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    395
    25
    63
    Student
    Georgia
    FYI, there is a new version out and it MAY have fixed it? Haven't had problems with it since i flashed new one: 2.0.0.7.
     
  20. mihalich

    mihalich Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    425
    44
    43
    South Orange County, CA
    confirmed 2.0.0.7 fixed recovery for me also.

    Joe
     
  21. bamaredwingsfan

    bamaredwingsfan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    525
    27
    88
    Mail Carrier
    Cullman, AL
    I was having the nothings happening problem, and i had to flash back to Sp then back to CW and now it seems to have fixed my problem.
     
  22. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Though bugs may of course show up in a particular version of CW Recovery, from my experience w/these problems w/recovery not launching, I really think this is an issue w/ROM Manager downloading/flashing CW Recovery...something in that process isn't working reliably on Froyo. Otherwise flashing to an older recovery and then back to the same one wouldn't be able to fix things. In the end it seems like the fix needs to come from ROM Manager, not from a particular version of CW Recovery.
     
  23. MahoVader

    MahoVader Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    53
    4
    16
    Professional opera tenor/IT techno geek/Pt time co
    New Hampshire
    Yet another CW update - 2.0.1.0! Seems to be running fine here. Just loaded another P3Droid kernal without a hitch. :)
     
  24. NickAppleese

    NickAppleese Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    55
    2
    16
    Man, Koush has been all over updating both ROM manager and CWM recovery as of late. The hell!
     
  25. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    It because he is adding support for and fixing issues on other phones. Like the evo, desire and incredible
     

Share This Page

Loading...