1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root New cm7 build, easiest way to re-install?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by redshark313, Apr 25, 2011.

  1. redshark313

    redshark313 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    43
    4
    16
    Only a little while ago did I root my DHD and install cm7 and cyanmodgen is now telling me there is an updated version.

    If it wasn't for not having a voicemail icon and that the facebook app keep continuously closing I probably wouldn't bother..... but I feel that I really should.

    Therefore, I've got a couple of questions:
    1. If I use nandroid to backup can I restore my DHD's system settings and app settings from running a restore? Or have I got the wrong end of the stick here?
    2. If that doesn't work, is there a way of re-configuring the system settings without going through everything again?
    3. How do other people manage re-setting up their phone again after re-flashing a ROM or do you guys just have more time than me to do this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,007
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,007
    9,640
    1,433
    UK
    I assume you're running cyanogen nightly builds?

    You can usually install the new build over the old one without wiping your data. That's only necessary if you have problems without the wipe.

    If you do have to wipe, you can use apps to restore all your data automatically. Between the automated Google backup, titanium backup and SMS backup and restore, the only thing I have to reconfigure is stuff in the settings. (You can restore some settings too using titanium backup, but it may cause problems occasionally so I don't bother).

    No, you can't restore parts of a nandroid backup. Those backups are complete backups - if you restore one, it restores your phones data and firmware exactly to how it was. So it would wipe out everything you've done since the backup. They are more intended for recovering phones if you make a mistake, or switching between different ROMs.
     
  3. redshark313

    redshark313 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    43
    4
    16
    Thanks Xyro, you reply is appreciated.

    I currently has installed "cyanogenmod-7.0.0-DesireHD-signed.zip" and this morning I received a notification from cyanogen indicating that an update was available. I grabbed it, its called "update-cm-7.0.2-DesireHD-signed.zip".

    Would you happen to know if I can I just install through ROM manager and it will patch in?
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,007
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,007
    9,640
    1,433
    UK
    You always have the option to update without wiping on ROM manager - the question is whether that's going to produce a working frimware or not. It should be fine for such a minor update, but that's not always the case.

    Just make sure you have it backup your current firmware before flashing. That way you're covered in case you have problems with the update. (That's a general rule really - make sure you have a firmware backup to fall back on before you flash anything).
     
  5. redshark313

    redshark313 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    43
    4
    16
    ok, thanks.

    I've just read a couple of comments towards cyanogen on twitter and someone has commented that 7.0.2 freezes the video camera. Think I'll just wait a while before applying any update.
     
  6. redshark313

    redshark313 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    43
    4
    16
    On more question for you (if your still there), say when version 7.0.3 comes out, I take it I should install the 7.0.2 first and then install 7.0.3?

    Or is there a way of knowing if I can just install 7.0.3?
     
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,007
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,007
    9,640
    1,433
    UK
    Unless it specifically says so, updates are usually the entire firmware and so you can just flash the most recent version. You're best off checking the download page to see if you're not sure.
     
    redshark313 likes this.
  8. redshark313

    redshark313 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    43
    4
    16
    Great, thanks again.

    Cheers for now...
     

Share This Page

Loading...