1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips new cut and paste!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by drakester, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. drakester

    drakester Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    18
    17
    18
    so many threads, dont know if this has been mentioned but the Evo has more of an iPhone style cut and paste now!!!! sweet.

    My Hero running 2.1 didnt.
     

    Advertisement

    jkr4577 and THEFORCE like this.
  2. crawform

    crawform Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009

    Sep 9, 2009
    19
    1
    16
    great news. anyone have pics?
     
    sleepy3103 likes this.
  3. mocmylov

    mocmylov Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    6
    0
    25
    Student/ Hospital Asst
    Escondido, CA
    Yea the incredible uses this method as well, so much better than stock :)
     
  4. drakester

    drakester Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    18
    17
    18
    i dont have pics but you long press the word, then it zooms in. when you release you can drag the little bars to select more words/letters. it also has a pop up that gives you options for:

    copy to clip board
    search with wikipedia for definition
    share via: friend stream, main, message, twitter


    AWESOME!!!!
     
  5. MrX8503

    MrX8503 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    405
    53
    53
    Yeah I saw this as well and was really relieved that HTC is stepping it up.

    I found it funny all the nay sayers dogging iPhone for getting copy/paste late, but now the iPhone implements it the best.
     
  6. lopezpm

    lopezpm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    218
    26
    43
    Garden City, MI
    what app is it doing this in? I tried the opera browser, I like how it does it but it isn't how you explained. I tried emails and it seems the same as how it was on the latest 2.1 roms on my hero.

    edit: found it, it does it in the stock browser. I like it. I wish it was like that through out the OS, not just in the stock browser

    edit 2: Wow, I really like it. It's so cool.
     
  7. drakester

    drakester Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    18
    17
    18
    i used it in email as well.
    still doesnt work in gmail for some reason...
     
  8. lopezpm

    lopezpm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    218
    26
    43
    Garden City, MI
    I think I'm going to start using the stock browser. It's so much faster now on the evo and this new cut and paste seals it for me.
     
  9. fortesquieu

    fortesquieu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,079
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,079
    144
    143
    Yea the stock browser has it.
     
  10. Napoleon_PhoneApart

    Napoleon_PhoneApart Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    95
    8
    16
    For the life of me, how do you select a single word to copy? Whenever I touch the little drag bar (I always get only one), the stupid text edit menu pops up.
     
  11. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    6,184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    6,184
    5,047
    923
    Male
    Database Programmer, Sprint Advocate
    Queens, NY
    It also works on Dolphin HD browser.

    TS
     
  12. lopezpm

    lopezpm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    218
    26
    43
    Garden City, MI
    are you dragging the little green ball with silver arrow?
     
  13. ashykat

    ashykat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,076
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009

    Apr 27, 2009
    1,076
    127
    163
    Irvine, CA
    Here are some screens I took from my MyTouch 3G Slide which also has this implementation.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Aridon

    Aridon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    224
    45
    43
    Just found this as well. Very nice and needed change.
     
  15. notarichman

    notarichman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    gmail doesn't seem to allow cuts, copies, or pastes at all for me.
     
  16. Zameus

    Zameus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    143
    17
    38
    Same here. Would be nice if they allowed copy/paste within any app on the EVO.
     
  17. Buddy4095

    Buddy4095 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011

    Jan 12, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    In Gmail you do:

    MENU > more
    SELECT TEXT
    highlight whatever text > "saving to clipboard"
    open up new Gmail (compose)
    MENU > more
    PASTE and then you're done !
     
  18. shapster1

    shapster1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    How do you cut and paste on the evo
     
  19. Nomad397

    Nomad397 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    36
    2
    16
    how about copy and paste in htc text messaging ?
     
  20. trader914

    trader914 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    204
    5
    36
    If you want to copy/paste the entire text, you just hold down on the text bubble....then copy...then hold down on wherever you want to paste it to...then paste.
     
  21. Munnarg

    Munnarg Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    229
    29
    43
    Male
    I think they might have meant copying an already sent text, which you can't do. It's pretty lame if you ask me.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...