1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root New D2 ROM leak: 2.3.15

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Redflea, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    MDW and TBH present: 2.3.15 for the Droid2

    Leaked D2 OTA upgrade in update.zip format, deodexed...no change log or any sort of summary of changes yet.

    Do a nandroid backup first, of course.

    If you've themed or applied a ROM and want to try this you'll likely want to wipe /System to avoid potential conflicts.
     

    Advertisement

    kaoticg2k10 and redpanda like this.
  2. kidon

    kidon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    123
    18
    38
    Have you noticed any differences yet?
     
  3. Super_Six_Two

    Super_Six_Two Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    594
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    594
    76
    78
    NJ
    So what is the advantage to doing this rather then waiting for the OTA? Not losing root?
     
  4. pballa2099

    pballa2099 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    i did all the steps and all my apps and settings are gone, follwed exactly and did a backup. what do i do now??
     
  5. RUKKU5

    RUKKU5 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    51
    0
    15
    Warehouse Manager
    Danbury, CT
    awesome, but im gunna wait for changelog.
     
  6. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    If you followed all the steps your apps and settings are supposed to be gone...that's what happens when you wipe data and cache.

    All your apps and settings should be restored automatically - just wait and you'll have them all back - you'll have to add your email accounts back in manually.
     
  7. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Advantages:

    1. Being first ;)
    2. Keeping root easily
    3. Maintaining a deodexed system (better for theming and can/should help performance)
     
  8. pballa2099

    pballa2099 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    okay, so i'm guessing all of my downloaded apps will have to be reinstalled manually, and that everything will sync from gmail?
     
  9. lazarus2297

    lazarus2297 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    does anyone else's dialer screen look weird like mine? and yes i wiped data and cache first... haven't tried reinstalling yet just thought i would see if I am the only one...
     

    Attached Files:

  10. roboots21

    roboots21 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    Hmm .. that is exactly how my screen looks with stock Droid 2 ROM. ???
     
  11. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    I believe I have found one fix so far that is nice - the problem I was having w/accounts w/facebook linkages not showing phone numbers when they have status updates appears to be fixed. Can someone else confirm?

    For those installing and wiping data, all your apps and settings should reinstall automatically - can take a while, but that has been one area where the D2 has been perfect for me so far.
     
  12. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    506
    19
    63
    Northwestern PA, USA
    Check the orientation of the numbers on the dialpad..something's not right there.
     
  13. lazarus2297

    lazarus2297 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    :D apparently he didn't look at that picture good enough:)

    I tried reinstalling and this time i formated system first and it works fine now.. something was completely wrong with my dialer app. after I would call someone and hang up the signal would completly go out then switch to 1X for a minute then back to 3G... but all seems good now
     
  14. bishang

    bishang Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    5
    0
    25
    Has anyone lost their root installing this?
     
  15. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Nope, not me, zero root issues.
     
  16. lazarus2297

    lazarus2297 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    if you have to use the "format system" option then you will lose root
     
  17. pballa2099

    pballa2099 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    my dialer is messed up as well, anybody find a fix for this issue?
     
  18. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Try clearing data for the Dialer:

    - Settings>Applications>Manage> All Apps, select Dialer, clear data

    If that doesn't work and you really need to fix it, you may have to reinstall and wipe /system as a part of the install.

    Assuming you've already done things like a battery pull..
     
  19. roboots21

    roboots21 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    Ha, oooops .. I looked at the picture again .. something is def messed up :)
     
  20. J.C.Sugrue

    J.C.Sugrue Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    14
    0
    15
    I had the exact same problem yesterday, I ended up going back to 2.2.0
     
  21. RJT185

    RJT185 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    550
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    550
    51
    78
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Any change logs for 2.3.15??
     
  22. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
  23. RJT185

    RJT185 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    550
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    550
    51
    78
    Pittsburgh, PA
    C'est La Vie!!
     
  24. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Yeah...kinda a bummer they didn't leak a change log as well.

    I haven't done it yet, but since 2.3.15 leaked for the DX as well, you could check out the DX 2.3.15 leak discussions and see if they have any info. Will likely be some DX specific stuff, but likely a lot of commonality between the DX and D2 releases.
     
  25. Super_Six_Two

    Super_Six_Two Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    594
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    594
    76
    78
    NJ
    2.3.15 was officially released for the DX. This is the first version of froyo that they got. Since they did not have a previous version of froyo idk if they will have a change log.
     

Share This Page

Loading...