1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

New Defy Owner and Milestone XT720 Owner (US)

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by OrlandoFC, Feb 15, 2011.

1. OrlandoFC

OrlandoFC Lurker
    None

Feb 15, 2011
    Tech Writer
    Orlando, FL
    Just trying to figure it all out guys...

My background: I'm a technical writer, so (hopefully) you won't find incoherent ramblings from me (often). Tech writers can effectively communicate issues and solutions to non-experts, and hopefully I can do some of that on this forum.

I bought my Motorola Defy (Motorola DEFY with MOTOBLUR - Durable Android Smart Phone with Blur - Touchscreen - Water Dust Scratch Resistant - Touch Tablet - Overview - Motorola Mobility, Inc. Western Europe) in Feb 2011, and it was actually a leap of faith. I had been in the market for a new phone for a ridiculously long time, and I decided I did not want an iPhone many moons ago.

Long story short, I played with the Defy for about 20 minutes and loved it's quick responding OS (not crazy about being forced to use Motorblur though. Don't really see the point). My wife pointed out it was probably the most rugged of all the smart phones, and that was all I needed.

I also have an unlocked Milestone XT720 (Motorola DEFY with MOTOBLUR - Durable Android Smart Phone with Blur - Touchscreen - Water Dust Scratch Resistant - Touch Tablet - Overview - Motorola Mobility, Inc. Western Europe). If you know anything about the phone, I don't need to tell you how sweet the thing is. 8MP camera? Yeah, I'll take that even with zero phone functionality, as that's higher resolution than a lot of my friends' digital cameras.

BUT, the phone was a demo model from Japan (it's actually not sold in the US yet) and I couldn't get it to jive with my T-Mobile SIM card. I gave it back to my friend and she fiddled with it for a few days and sent it back to me and ensured me it would work.

It did. For two days.