1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

new facebook app update and gps

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Jeffruby, Sep 19, 2011.

  1. Jeffruby

    Jeffruby Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    462
    27
    43
    After last update, the Facebook app keeps triggering the GPS. Ugh! Any way to stop this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jeffruby

    Jeffruby Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    462
    27
    43
    anyone? so annoying that every time i now click on fb app my gps icon flashes ! how can i stop it!
     
  3. Goreygirl

    Goreygirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    631
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    631
    114
    103
    Female
    Occupational Health Advisor
    Kildare, Ireland
    The only way I've found is to turn off GPS and wifi locator in your phone settings and only turn them on when you want to e.g. for sat nav etc.
     
  4. mmduluth

    mmduluth Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    15
    2
    16
    You have to watch it now. It doesn’t just turn it on when your in the app. It will also turn it on with FB just running in the background sometimes. I used to always leave GPS on and now I have to keep it off if I want my battery to last me through the day because FB keeps triggering it.
     
  5. kwalla

    kwalla Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    219
    18
    48
    Male
    When I post a status update via my phone now...it gives my location next to the time posted -- is there a way to stop this?
     
  6. Goreygirl

    Goreygirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    631
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    631
    114
    103
    Female
    Occupational Health Advisor
    Kildare, Ireland
    Hi

    The only way to do it is in your phone settings as it is now an auto-feature of FB; go to menu > settings > location / location & security (depending on your phone type) and turn off GPS and Wifi locating features.
     
  7. kwalla

    kwalla Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    219
    18
    48
    Male
    That's what I'm learning.. but then my weather app doesn't work...
     
  8. tcat007

    tcat007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    1,722
    262
    163
    Texas
    I've never had my GPS checked in the 10 months I've had Android. I only check it when I use Maps or Nav and then uncheck it when done. If you have location by Wifi checked, almost all apps will use it for your location. There should be a setting in your weather app to allow this. I also never use a FB app, it's always worked better for me through a browser.
     
  9. Mrdrooyp

    Mrdrooyp Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011

    Oct 23, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Im staring to hate fb app..
     
  10. Mrdrooyp

    Mrdrooyp Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011

    Oct 23, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Im staring to hate fb app..
    But there is one other way to STOP sharing your location before you post:

    Quote
    To remove that option on your phone, when you're about to post a status, click on the little upside down tear drop thing that is between the option to add a person to your status or a picture...that should remove it for you (I think). (WORKS)
    You will see your current location at the bottom with a tiny cross next to it, click on the cross..
    Unfortunatly you will have to do it before every post :(
    From: facebook.com/topic.php?uid=74769995908&topic=21303
     
  11. DexTyler

    DexTyler Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    212
    16
    38
    I've given up on the app after each update just got worse and worse. Now, I use Opera Mobile and use FB in it's desktop form. Liking it a lot better than the app!
     
  12. P3T3R

    P3T3R Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011

    Feb 12, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Whenever I made a post from my phone it shows the following
    29 minutes ago via mobile

    Earlier it used to be
    29 minutes ago via android or iPhone depending which phone was used.

    Only updates made via BlackBerry are indicated with the logo and BlaclBerry.

    Is there any way to make it show as

    29 minutes ago via android and the android logo.
     
  13. DexTyler

    DexTyler Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    212
    16
    38
    Facebook removed that from the iPhone and Android app. You can't get it back even if you use an old version since they changed it on the servers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...