1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

New firefox version

Discussion in 'Computers' started by woop, May 6, 2011.

  1. woop

    woop novacane (OFWGKTA)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    5,053
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    How do you guys feel about the new version of Firefox?

    I personally HATE it and wish they did not completely rearrange everything. They tried to copy CHrome and make it almost like that browser, which I do not like. Now I might as well just use Chrome if I'm gonna be stuck with that "full screen" type of window:mad:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Isthmus

    Isthmus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    772
    119
    93
    deep breath man, Just right click next to a tab and check off "Menu Bar". Bingo, now you have the FF3.x look.

    If you don't like the refresh button all the way onthe right, do the same as above and click on customize. now drag the refresh and the stop button where you want them to be on the left.

    If you don't want the bookmark menu on the right, you already turned it on as a pull down when you activated the menu bar, just drag it into the macro tray when you are customizing.

    Ta-da!!! :p
     
    poopookakada likes this.
  3. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    724
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    724
    48
    88
    Male
    Help Desk Manager
    North Carolina
    Took a little getting use to, but I'm fine with it now. Seems faster now.
     
  4. poopookakada

    poopookakada Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    323
    45
    63
    Local Radio Presenter
    Swindon, UK
    Never realised i could move the buttons around!! That's much better now.

    Do you happen to know if you can set it up to open a new tab by double clicking in the tab bar (without switching from the dropdown menu to the menu bar)
     
  5. woop

    woop novacane (OFWGKTA)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    5,053
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Haha yeah it got a little better once I discovered I can move the buttons and things around, but I still do not like it. If I move the tab below the buttons and add the menu toolbar, the top area becomes a huge empty space. So I'm gonna stick with the tab being above the buttons since it looks more normal that way. I'm seriously contemplating switching to IE just so I can have more of that normal look (this is why I do not use Chrome - I hate this full screen thing). I'm not even sure if IE has switched to this considering I haven't opened that in like 6 years haha

    Edit: Did everyone elses' fonts change for various websites, such as this forum? I can't figure out how to change it back and it is annoying the heck out of me. Several of the sites that I frequent all have different fonts now compared to pre-update and it makes it harder to read cause its fainter and smaller. Ugh!
     
  6. poopookakada

    poopookakada Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    323
    45
    63
    Local Radio Presenter
    Swindon, UK
    If you're desperate for firefox 3.6 then try downloading from here: Mozilla Firefox 3.6

    I'm only on firefox 4 because I was beta testing 3.6 and 4 at the same time
     
  7. Mistiq

    Mistiq Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    148
    29
    43
    Kansas City
    Hmmm, I actually love FF4. I actually transitioned from using Chrome/Chromium as my daily drivers to just keeping them up for easy Google Access.

    I absolutely LOVE Tab GroupI did use some of the s (24 tabs open now, without losing track of what's important)

    I admit that I did use some tips from this How to Fix Annoyances with Firefox 4's New Look to make it fit me better.

    Hope this is useful for you.
     
  8. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    22,659
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,659
    8,441
    1,453
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    Link below helped but for the most part i think it is unstable and ..... jerky.... almost lags some..... i find i have to close browser and re open it to get performance back up to snuff (i leave browser open for days and days at a time, never had a problem till 4.0)
    Also it is crashing CONSTANTLY!! Well at least 3 or 4 times a week which is 3 or 4 times more than it used to..
    I like the changes for the most part after i tweaked it but stability/reliability needs improved GREATLY

    (btw, IE 9 while being better than 8 is going along the same lines)
    I found this article a while back and those tips helped me get used to it
     
  9. mplevy

    mplevy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    862
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    862
    135
    123
    New York, USA
    woop,
    Don't go to IE9 if you don't like this new Firefox look, it's not much different. I can't post a screenshot (don't have it on my work PC) but they REALLY slimmed down the IE9 interface.
     
  10. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    22,659
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,659
    8,441
    1,453
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    good idea for reference....
    [​IMG]
     
  11. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    I dunno what you guys are complaining about FF4 is awesome lol.
     
  12. chum1600

    chum1600 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    172
    19
    58
    S. St. Louis County, MO
    I have been really happy with FF4 so far. I agree with the other people that are saying its faster. I also find it nice to have the home button and the bookmarks right next to get other. Those are the only two buttons I need.
     
  13. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    22,659
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,659
    8,441
    1,453
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    When i leave it open past a couple days it gets extremely sluggish is all i'm saying. I am all FF for better or worse (though disqus refuses to work right with it, its the only time i open chrome)
     
  14. NightHawk877

    NightHawk877 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    672
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    672
    175
    123
    Male
    Texas
    After getting screwed over Internet Explorer 6, I made the permanent switch to Firefox and never looked back. Firefox 4 is frigging sweet!
     
  15. Isthmus

    Isthmus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    772
    119
    93
    I originally tried the beta of FF4 and hated it. it was buggy and not particularly fast, and everything it trioed to do, Chrome and chromium did better. then the release came out. I waited a couple of weeks totry it and was amazed at the progress they had made. It took a little while to get used to the new look and feel, but to be honest I had already gotten used to th elook and feel of Chrome, so FF4 just felt natural. All I had to do was move some buttons around where I wanted them, make the butons small like I like tham, and place a few bookmark icons on the bar. I find FF4 to be slower than Chrome/chromium, but still faster than any version of IE (including 9), and more flexible than either.

    I love chorme for its security and speed, but I'm not a fan of the limited customization of the UI. FF strikes the right balance for me, I just wish it was as fast as chrome. On the other hand, chrome syncs with y android phone almost seamlessly which is very nice.
     
  16. Kuchiku

    Kuchiku Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    Thanks for posting this :) I was also annoyed by the new layout of firefox 4.

    I think this release of firefox has still some bugs in it. Sometimes when I try to close a tab it won't. I still need to close firefox and open again before I can close the tab.
     
  17. poopookakada

    poopookakada Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    323
    45
    63
    Local Radio Presenter
    Swindon, UK
    Does anyone else find that YouTube takes forever to catchup with typing and searching when on the homepage?? It's only YouTube and FF4, I've popped back to 3.6 for now because it winds me up too much (I spend too much time on YouTube)
     
  18. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Not that I have noticed. I'll run a few tests tonight to see if you're right.
     
  19. poopookakada

    poopookakada Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    323
    45
    63
    Local Radio Presenter
    Swindon, UK
    Cheers man :) I may have been using a Beta still without knowing :/
     
  20. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    22,659
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,659
    8,441
    1,453
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    It seems that when i leave FF open for awhile it starts to eat RAM up like there's no tomorrow. Saw in task manager last night it was using well over 1.6gigs of ram. Once i close it all the way out and open it back up it is responsive again.... Weird
     
  21. Rainulf

    Rainulf Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011

    Apr 1, 2011
    32
    5
    36
    Software Development
    Toronto
    I've been using FF4 for a while now, best version so far. Better than Chrome imho. I just can't seem to like Chrome, I simply don't feel same using it.
     
    NightAngel79 likes this.
  22. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,185
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,185
    13,294
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    I finding FF4 to behave exactly the same as well, but on a Mac though. Have it open 3-4 days, it's consuming well over a gig of RAM and gets noticeably sluggish. So needs to be closed and restarted.

    Chrome, I can leave running for weeks and it never exhibits any memory leaks or slowdowns. Again this is on a Mac.
     
    NightAngel79 likes this.
  23. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    22,659
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,659
    8,441
    1,453
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    Mine is on windows but yea, that exactly what happens to me. Before 4 i could leave it open with 10 tabs for at least a week
     
  24. XplosiV

    XplosiV Master X is Watching You
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,423
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    5,423
    1,971
    413
    Male
    UK
    Try a better browser :p lol
     
  25. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    22,659
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,659
    8,441
    1,453
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    still is the best:p

    just this one little thing that bugs me, as long as i remember to close my browser every once and a while i'm good
     

Share This Page

Loading...