1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support new firmware from samsung new pc studio

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by spupuz, Aug 28, 2009.

  1. Sauriann

    Sauriann Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009

    Sep 1, 2009
    24
    0
    15
    Belgrade, Serbia
    I dont have radom reboots problem with I7500XXIG8:thinking:, maybe becuase it is my base band version (not updated to)...
     

    Advertisement

  2. dwedel

    dwedel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009

    Sep 1, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    I've just updated to I7500XXIH7 firmware and it seems a bit quicker, mostly hoping for longer lasting battery as 1-1,5 day is quite annoying on a brand new phone.

    And syncing my google mail/contacts took a long long time after applying this patch, even over wireless with 12 mbit available for the Samsung, so have patience :) (works quick after the initialization though)

    But great info, keep up the good work kam187 :)
     
  3. mrbrdo

    mrbrdo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009

    Aug 29, 2009
    75
    0
    15
    dwedel: use APNdroid and AutoSync OnOff and Wifi Toggle Widget to disable wifi and 3g (!!! by apndroid it helps A LOT). after that battery life is great! at least for me.. almost two days and i'm still on 90%
    of course you can enable it any time from the app when you need it
     
  4. Andronix

    Andronix Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    676
    16
    63
    I didn't bother with NPS, it's broken. I used Odin updater to upgrade from G6 to H7 without problems, there is a howto guide somewhere on this forum.
     
  5. lazarus101

    lazarus101 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009

    Sep 1, 2009
    70
    6
    16
    I've updated from FF to H7 and everything seems OK, I'm surprised how fast the update went :) It now seems to run a bit faster, I hope the battery life will be longer

    Later edit:
    the battery problem seems to be solved!!! in 4h 30' I only lost 3% of the battery with EDGE connection,
    auto sync disabled, and had a 5 minutes call, 2 received texts, 1 sent and played Labyrinth Lite for around 10 minutes.
     
  6. Sauriann

    Sauriann Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009

    Sep 1, 2009
    24
    0
    15
    Belgrade, Serbia
    is any difference between I7500XXIG8 and H7:thinking: which firm is last vesrsion
     
  7. Andronix

    Andronix Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    676
    16
    63
    H7 is latest fw atm.
     
  8. zukbang

    zukbang Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    42
    1
    16
    I can't extract this H7 file...
    gt-i7500tvih7-pdagnu.tar gets error...anyone have just this file?? I need to upgrade my firmware. please help.
    thanks
     
  9. Andronix

    Andronix Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    676
    16
    63
    who said you need to exctract anything? :)
    i used guide from this thread by kam187.
     
  10. zukbang

    zukbang Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    42
    1
    16
    it was my computer...I got everything worked out.
    now, I just need to UNLOCK it. darn it! I just found out that reflashing doesn't work...

    anyone can guide me with this?? it is locked Bouygues.

    any legit site for unlocking??

    thanks
     
  11. Andronix

    Andronix Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    676
    16
    63
    Legit site would be Samsung service :) But usually they'll told you that you'll lose warranty.
     
  12. zukbang

    zukbang Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    42
    1
    16
    you meant the samsung service give out unlock code??
    I never heard that before..
     
  13. Andronix

    Andronix Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    676
    16
    63
    Well, you can always try to call and ask them :)
     
  14. dwedel

    dwedel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009

    Sep 1, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    Thanks mrbrdo, the apndroid seems to do the trick with the battery, only lost a few % last night, normally it's been 25-40% over night.

    For the slow google sync I can't blame the new firmware anymore as Gmail appearantly had troubles that evening I installed the new firmware.
     
  15. bitxboi

    bitxboi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009

    Aug 21, 2009
    323
    6
    36
    hmmmm...by baseband version is I7500XXIG9, and of course, I cannot connect my device to NPS properly, as it's not a 'supported device'.
    The battery life problem is still there at my version, so I'd like to update it, preferably via NPS (all respects to your fantastic job kam187, just a case of preference). Is there going to be a solution to the device supporting soon?
    Is the H7's camera problem solved? I wouldn't like to solve some issues, but gain some others.
    Otherwise the phone is fantastic, and I'm really loving it. If only the battery could last longer!..!
    Thanks in advance.
     
  16. Shads

    Shads Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009

    Sep 3, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    Cracking job on all the files, have now got H7 installed and running - however just because i was curious I tried going back to stock uk g6 and the files linked do not go back to this but sets it to g8 and it loses the O2 APN settings. Is all well and good now as I have gone back to H7 but when the next updated uk firmware comes out I am worried that I will not be able to sync to the official version due to my phone being different to the standard official settings

    Can you help with this Kam?
     
  17. Sauriann

    Sauriann Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009

    Sep 1, 2009
    24
    0
    15
    Belgrade, Serbia
    to kam187 :

    can you please post screenshot of Odin Multi D. just before you need to click on start to upgrade firm. Do I need to check something in options?
     
  18. misshollyoaks

    misshollyoaks Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009

    Sep 4, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    i am a complete technophobe...i've bought the samsung i7500 sim free from a uk site but it has no android market.
    but i have no idea how to update the firmware as is being talked about here! can somebody give some pointers?

    thanks :)
     
  19. Andronix

    Andronix Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    676
    16
    63
  20. mrbrdo

    mrbrdo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009

    Aug 29, 2009
    75
    0
    15
    hey misshollyoaks. My friend had the same problem (no Market) - with upgrading to H7 that solved his problem. Maybe you can try this. I was not able to update with PC studio, so maybe you will need to use MultiOdin (google a little). That is the way I used and it worked perfectly. It's not so hard to update with MultiOdin, just find a guide for it (it's almost one-click).

    BATTERY PROBLEM SOLUTION: Basically in 99% of cases the battery problem (lasting only 1 day or so) is caused by 3g! So basically you have 2 options to solve it:
    1. Disable 3g in settings (then the phone will still be able to connect but only with 2g-EDGE which is a bit slower).
    2. Install APNdroid - this is a free program (available in market) you can put on your desktop to enable/disable 3g with 1 click. Only enable when you need internet access.

    I tried the 2nd solution and my battery now holds for probably around 5 days (depending on how much calls are made).
     
  21. Shads

    Shads Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009

    Sep 3, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    Thats the thing on the first day I had the phone i did indeed have 3g enable most of the time and it lost power by 4:45pm. The second day I switched it off along with background data and it was down to 15% by 4pm so only a slight increase. However today I have been running it the same as yesterday (2g and no background) and it is still currently at 63% so a massive improvement.

    However I got this phone as a top end gadget with all the bells and whistles and now find that I have to cripple it a bit to get it to last a day. I'm hoping that once the battery has been run through it paces and charged a couple of times this will improve a lot more (already it is showing signs of this so fingers crossed)
     
  22. misshollyoaks

    misshollyoaks Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009

    Sep 4, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Andronix - i don't really understand anything.
    i can download the
    I7500XXIH7.rar file from megaupload but then it all goes pearshaped....
    i have no idea what to do from here on in as my laptop won't even open the file..
    please help!

     
  23. Bozzy

    Bozzy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009

    Aug 28, 2009
    52
    0
    15
    Im assuming you havent extracted it from .rar,(do not extract .tar file within the .rar) if so go here WinRAR archiver, a powerful tool to process RAR and ZIP files download that program and extract the i7500xxih7.rar and then follow kam187 instructions again, if you need more help please be more specific
     
  24. misshollyoaks

    misshollyoaks Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009

    Sep 4, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    thanks bozzy - have extracted the files now using that link.
    i have selected the boot, phone and pda however once i click start it's telling me to 'check image files'
    am i missing something?

    edit: i missed the ops file. so fingers crossed it will work now!
     
  25. synchromatik

    synchromatik Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009

    Sep 4, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    hey thnx a lot, i got it in first attempt , it is very simple procedure ... touch is visibaly improved, im testing battery life now , turned off all bg proceses, wifi , 3g and sync stuff so we will se how long does it go.

    thnx a bunch
     

Share This Page

Loading...