1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General New gb leak 9/21/2011

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Maddog241, Sep 21, 2011.

  1. Maddog241

    Maddog241 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    95
    14
    18
    Android Police have linked up a new RUU for version 2.11.605.2. Could this be the official?

    http://lts.cr/xBP

    I'm going to flash and will report back. Originally got MD5 mismatch, but there was a typo in the original leak post. All good now.
     

    Advertisement

    scotty85, Yeahha and Ibrick like this.
  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Ooh, this could be it. September is getting close to it's end if HTC is going to live up to their date then I would think so.

    I am not all that excited but good find. Once you get it flashed can you check to see if the VM notification bug has been worked out?
     
  3. Maddog241

    Maddog241 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    95
    14
    18
    Sorry to report, but voicemail notifications still appear to be broken. Google Talk is working again and the camera is ok so far. I guess that's progress.
     
  4. Pointguard1122

    Pointguard1122 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    213
    14
    38
    Denver, CO
    If rooted with s-off I would assume this loses root, but would keep s-off correct? I plan to go back to stock soon to sell this phone anyways. Is it safe for me to flash?
     
  5. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Depends on what version of hboot you have. I would suggest waiting until the stock rooted rom comes along.
     
    Pointguard1122 likes this.
  6. Pointguard1122

    Pointguard1122 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    213
    14
    38
    Denver, CO
    thanks, will do. Not sure what version, I rooted it and got s-off about 4 months ago. Will it still matter when the official ruu is released?
     
  7. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I don't know. If you have the eng hboot and run the RUU you will lose root and have s-on I *think*. If you have the perm s-off hboot it would block it but you may get stuck in a boot loop until you can remove the PG05IMG.zip from the SD and flash a rom. If you have revolutionary then it would block it and you may or may not get the boot loop as I really don't know all that much about revolutionary.
     
  8. Maddog241

    Maddog241 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    95
    14
    18
    I used the Revolutionary tool to obtain permanent s-off. I stopped at that point as all I wanted at this time is the ability to flash back to a stock RUU after trying a leak. I flashed this leak through HBoot with no problems. All that happened was it bypassed updating the bootloader.
     
  9. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    if you have the 1.04.2000 eng hboot,then do not flash this. it will overwrite your hboot to be s-on.

    if you rooted with revolionary,then flash away. your revolutionary hboot will still be there after,and you can hboot flash a recovery,then flash superuser.

    if youre on firmware that will prompt an OTA(mr2) you can accept the OTA as long as you have the stock recovery. if you have clockwork or twrp installed,do not accept an ota. as yeahha said,wait for a recovery-flashable version. hope that helps :)

    if youre on one of the other leaks,rooted or stock,you wont get the OTA because of the way the updater script works. only official versions will OTA. leakers will have to install the OTA just as you installed the previous leaks :eek:
     
    trapperjohn, Thats and Yeahha like this.
  10. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Scotty, a guy over at rootz flashed and it rewrote his bootloader to s-on. He said the bootloader now says "locked" at the top any idea if you can still root via revolutionary?
     
  11. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Then it can't be the OTA.
     
  12. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    did it look like this?! :eek:

    [​IMG]

    yes,revolutionary will root it just fine. i flashed that hboot and rooted it with no issues.
     
  13. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    No new radio either. This definitely is not the ota, not even close if you ask me. I hate to say it, but HTC is really dropping the ball on this gb ota
     
    Thats likes this.
  14. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Yeah I would love to see what was changed between this and the prior leak.
     
  15. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    so... when are we going to get the OTA?








    sorry,couldnt resist :D

    maybe if they leak it enuff times,one of the DEVs will figure out the VM issue for them :p
     
  16. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Sorry the CM team is on leave currently, they seem to be the only people who work on the RIL (well that and the MIUI team). Perhaps HTC will just release all the source code and let the devs have a go at it then it would be fixed.
     
  17. Maddog241

    Maddog241 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    95
    14
    18
    The only real problems I had with the last leak, in addition to the VM lack of notification, were camera and Google Talk fc's. So far in this one, the only thing I have seen is the remaining problem with vm indicator.

    It does concern me that the vm indicator problem has persisted for this long.
     
  18. Striker951

    Striker951 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    NE Ohio

    So if I'm not rooted, this is ok to flash?
     
  19. Maddog241

    Maddog241 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    95
    14
    18
    You could flash this if not rooted. However, there are concerns.

    1) It will wipe all phone data.
    2) You can not go back unless you root.
    3) You will not get the official OTA if/when it ever comes out. You will have to flash the official release in the same manner as this, once again wiping all your phone data.

    This leak is pretty good with the exception of voicemail indicator still being broken.
     
  20. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    No, sorry but that is incorrect. If you are rooted and used revolutionary you can not flash this it will block it. If you are rooted via the manual method depending on your hboot it will either block it or you will lose root.

    I am also not sure about if you wouldn't get the OTA if you flash this. Given the official OTA is a higher version than this you should still get it but you may have to manually check for it, if it is a lower version (which is unlikely) then you won't be able to flash it even with the RUU without having to root.
     
  21. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
  22. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    actually,hes 100% correct. the only thing the revolutionary will block is the flash of the hboot,just like shadowmites permanent patched one(wich is the same hboot,with exception of version numbers). the rest will flash just fine,leaving the the revolutionary hboot when the dust settles :)

    when youve rooted with revolutionary,youre fine to flash whatever RUUs you please,higher or lower.

    hes right about that as well. the way the updater script in a stock rom works,is that it looks at the version number and if it doesnt find a version that was an official release,it wont OTA. i tested this as well awhile back,after it was pointed out to me how it works(i thot the same as you,prior)

    i went back to the first mr2 leak,and tried for an hour manually checking to see if it would OTA to official MR2, never happened.

    if you want to install this without a revolutionary permanent s-off hboot,then youre stuck with it until you either:
    a)root it so you can flash an older version
    or
    b)manually flash a higher version(be it a newer leak,or the official OTA)

    as far as this leak is concerned,i havent gotten any VMs today,but ill take maddogs work theyre still broken. also had some issues with bluetooth. a few times,when i got a text while talking on the BT,the text knocked out my connection :mad: also,after i got far enuff away from the phone for a few minutes for it to disconect,when i went back out it didnt re-connect. i turned BT on then off with the quicksettings,and then it reconnected as phone 2 :thinking:

    other than that,i did feel it was smoother and less laggy than 2.10.605.0. looks like a lil progress was made at least.
     
    Maddog241 likes this.
  23. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I still not convinced that it won't update for you if you were to stay on it. I seem to recall people trying to get an OTA and have been unable to even manually checking. If flashing this prevents any OTA updates then why someone would flash the ruu leak without root is beyond me.
     
  24. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    it is beyond me as well. madddog has the right idea. he ran revolutionary just so he could test the leaks and go back to previous versions. although it would be easier on him if hed instal clockwork and make backups,he could save himself setup time when he wants to go backwards ;)

    as for the OTA,when i go back to mr1,or shipping firmware(1.12.605.6 or 1.12.605.9) it OTAs right away,ive done it several times. i went back to 1.66.605.2 wich was never a release firmware. i signed in to my google account,let it sync,then tried checking for updates for an hour. every time it said "your system is up to date" :eek:

    reason i even tested,was i told someone on a leak thread they would get the OTA. adrenalyn steped in and said this:

    this was on the 2.11.605.0 thread here: [ROM]RUU_Mecha_GINGERBREAD_S_VERIZON_WWE_2.11.605.0_Rad io_0.01.78.0802w_3_NV_8K_1.41 - Page 4 - xda-developers

    you are welcome to do your own testing,of course... i wasnt willing to stay on that firmware for hours,days or weeks,lol :p an hour was enuff to convince me that adeenalyn was prolly right. ;)
     
  25. Maddog241

    Maddog241 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    95
    14
    18
    You are absolutely right about completing the root process would save setup time with each new install. It is kinda time consuming to set everything up.
    Old habits die hard. I always took the time to reinstall everything when I updated the BB's over the years and I didn't have a lot of the problems that others did. Maybe that doesn't matter as much on Android, but it seemed to make a huge difference back then.

    I'm not an easily discouraged leak tester and I haven't gone back to stock yet since I used the Revolutionary tool. :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...