1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support new google maps make offline?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thequeenscheese, Aug 3, 2013.

  1. thequeenscheese

    thequeenscheese Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    769
    24
    63
    Hi how do i make a map area available offline? for eg im off to madrid soon and id like to get the map before i go saving the 3g downlad of it so i can use the sat nav without it costing?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,666
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,666
    19,049
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Zoom until you have the area you want on screen, then type "ok maps" in the search area - I know that's stupid, but I'm not making this up! If it's not too large an area it will then download it.

    Don't think live turn by turn navigation will work without data anyway, but you'll have a street plan you can use without data.

    (This "ok X" thing seems to be a fad in Google ATM - "ok glass", "ok maps", "ok Google now"...)
     
    nuttynat84 and funkylogik like this.
  3. Harry2

    Harry2 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,180
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,180
    1,340
    323
    Black Forest
    I tap on Maps' search bar and scroll down the opened menu to "Make this map area available offline" ... :)

    But seaching of locations in Madrid you can't with Maps without a data connection ... and no navigation as Hadron said already.
    Have a look at 'Maps With Me'. Its offline map of Spain would take 250MB on your SD card, but you'd get offline a search hit quality near of Maps'. Usability and speed is on the best ... but no navigation.

    Offline navigation and offline search has OsmAnd ... but its usability is not the best ;)

    Harry
     
  4. thequeenscheese

    thequeenscheese Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    769
    24
    63
    if the 3g wouldnt cost so much it would be fine but as usual we get rinsed, also im on the new maps/nav so the make avalable offline option is no longer there.., ill try the ok route tho..
     
  5. thequeenscheese

    thequeenscheese Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    769
    24
    63
    what is odd is that my tab2 10.1 has no 3g option its a wifi only tab but the sat nav works perfectly on it so it must have all maps offline
     
  6. thequeenscheese

    thequeenscheese Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    769
    24
    63
    ok doesnt work just takes me to oklahoma
     
  7. thequeenscheese

    thequeenscheese Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    769
    24
    63
    and the place im actually looking for is missed by the google maps tag by a good few miles place is riaza spain, the tag puts me in the mountains not the town of riaza..
     
  8. Harry2

    Harry2 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,180
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,180
    1,340
    323
    Black Forest
    Even with these offline maps of the old Maps version: For searching of locations and calculating a navigation route you'd need a data connection.

    Harry
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,666
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,666
    19,049
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Which version of Maps are you using? That Easter Egg ("OK maps") is the workaround for Maps 7, which hides the "make available offline" feature - I assumed this was the problem.

    If it's Maps 6 you have, just pull up the menu (the 3 vertical dot icon on mine) and select "Make available offline". That then lets you select the area - frankly it does a better job of it than Maps 7.
     
  10. thequeenscheese

    thequeenscheese Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    769
    24
    63
    its 7.0.2 but typing ok into search bar either with current location still ther or not just gives me a different area alltogether, maybe all the maps are now offline and simply the nav still needs 3g?
     
  11. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,666
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,666
    19,049
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Not just "ok", "ok maps". And you'll see it download, it isn't quick.
     
  12. thequeenscheese

    thequeenscheese Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    769
    24
    63
    ah i see, but say pre map loading not allowed in this area, which i dont get why whatever im looming at makes a difference?
     
  13. divinebovine

    divinebovine Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    991
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012

    Aug 30, 2012
    991
    273
    183
  14. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,666
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,666
    19,049
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    There are places where Maps won't preload - Rio is one I've met. I'm kinda surprised that Madrid is too, but I can confirm that it is! I'm using Maps 6, so unfortunately "downgrading" (in looks, not functionality) to 6 won't solve this one.

    Navfree or OsmAnd should do what you want though (both available free).
     
  15. thequeenscheese

    thequeenscheese Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    769
    24
    63
    theres a few freebies on the sammy apps now that i hadnt spotted before it functions and looks better now also..
     

Share This Page

Loading...