1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

New Handcent fixes out of order SMS!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mazz0310, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    587
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    587
    38
    68
    Who needs to wait for Motorola to release a fix? Handcent has an update today and they fixed the ordering.

    About time, now I can rest in peace.

    Thank you Handcent!.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    Did it fix the time stamp problems?
     
  3. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    587
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    587
    38
    68
    It sure did.
     
  4. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    I just installed it and the time stamp is still off by 4 hours and changing the time offset still does nothing....back to Chomp for me until it's fixed.
     
  5. Mays24

    Mays24 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    205
    14
    38
    Northern California
    Works perfect for me.
     
  6. archer

    archer Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    17
    2
    16
    Time is correct for me now with the update. Launcher Pro wiedget still shows the wrong time by 5 hours.
     
  7. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    587
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    587
    38
    68
    Wipe out your texts and try again.
     
  8. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    Time stamp is right now, I had to uninstall and reinstall to get it fixed.
     
  9. SCCAForums.com

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    Can you 'replace' the 'TEXT MESSAGING' of the Motorola, with Handcent in the 'Messaging' App? (Where it shows Universal Inbox, Email, Facebook, Work Email etc...)?
     
  10. Brian_83

    Brian_83 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    211
    30
    43
    ChompSMS also has an update out that fixes the issue.
     
  11. e5116

    e5116 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    142
    23
    38
    Weird, my timestamps are correct when I open the handcent application, but on the handcent widget, the times are off. Anybody else seeing this issue? Uninstalled and reinstalled.
     
  12. mahers

    mahers Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    1,320
    164
    143
    Male
    Product Manager
    Concord, CA
    Ditto...must be cuz we're Giants' fans :D (4-1, top 7th in case you weren't aware)
     
  13. LokiStormbringer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    45
    4
    16
    WI
    Got the same thing happening. It would be nice to fix it but not a big concern to me.
     
  14. bcurtiss433

    bcurtiss433 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    23
    2
    16
    How do you disable the stock messaging app so I dont get duplicate text notifications?
     
  15. dawnierae

    dawnierae Android Expert
    Rank:
     #117
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,261
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    1,261
    875
    233
    Insurance for fancy ass resorts
    VA
    Go into the stock messaging app, hit the menu key, select Settings, Text Messages, and make sure everything is unchecked.
     
  16. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,442
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    2,442
    200
    143
    I have zero problems with stock TXT. It comes up the same that Handcent does. Only the stock one removes the notifications at the top of the screen and Handcent doesn't. To me Handcent is more of a PIA.
    Plus you DON'T have to hit the menu key then MORE to get to DELETE from stock app.
    Just doesn't really do anything all that different to add another app and then have more to do.

    Uninstalled.
     
  17. nj02vette

    nj02vette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,346
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,346
    2,034
    313
    Male
    Marlton, NJ
    I'm with you, never saw why Handcent was so popular. Just use the stock text client is fine for me.
     
  18. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,442
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    2,442
    200
    143
    Folks that use stuff like that have something against stock items, like they are junk and now this 'NEW' thing is so much better, because it's...............'new'.
    Oh, but Hancent has colors and a pretty blue LED notification and, and it has.................................. SMILEYS!!
    Give me a friggen break. It's layout and usage is basically the same but creates more work due to how it IS set up(deleting a message for instance)
     
  19. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    587
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    587
    38
    68
    Chill out buddy. Everyone has personal preference. Handcent just simply has more options, from notifications to UI. If you don't like it don't use it.
     
  20. landale

    landale Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    93
    11
    18
    This new version does not fix the problem! All it does is visually adjust the time stamp but it doesn't alter it on the message itself, meaning it will still be wrong in other programs and widgets. The best fix is to use the app SMS Time Fix from the market set to phone time and then set Handcent to an offset of 0 hours. Works perfectly now. This didn't work in the previous version of Handcent because version 3.29 had a Droid X offset of +1 hour, thankfully now we can put it back to 0.
     
  21. zandroidx

    zandroidx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    93
    9
    16
    Agree about Handcent. But I did switch to Chomp because it allows you to receive and reply to your SMS over the lock screen. Love that option. Also, it's less cluttered especially when in landscape mode. The keyboard doesn't cover up pertinent areas of the screen.
     
  22. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    If you were using Tranquility or the rubiX ROM, the CyanogenMod MMS app it comes with already fixed all the timestamp issues (even with LP+'s widget).

    I'm glad Handcent has the ordering fixed, but as long as you still have the original messaging app, the timestamps will still be off.
     
  23. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    587
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    587
    38
    68
    That's weird. I'm using 2.3.15 and have never had the timestamp's being off.....or atleast never noticed it. I guess I might be one of the select few, but the ordering is what really drove me crazy.
     
  24. Boom175

    Boom175 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    Kinda off topic, but here goes, Can you configure Handcent to use my Google Voice #. Thanks in advance.
     
  25. buckguin

    buckguin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    195
    13
    38
    Student
    Ohio
    If you want to delete something in handcent, you dont have to go to options and more, just just long press on the message or on the thread then delete. Simple as that..
     

Share This Page

Loading...