1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General New ICS leak

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by th3goob, May 7, 2012.

  1. hajimeabc

    hajimeabc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012

    Apr 20, 2012
    225
    5
    36
    Thanks. So, there is no difference between buying it now (and upgrade it myself later) or wait until the Galaxy Note + ICS is available in retail store?

    When I was in a Samsung showroom last week, the guy told me that when ICS becomes available, I just take it to the showroom and they will take care of the update. Wonder if it is a simple process.
     

    Advertisement

  2. th3goob

    th3goob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    185
    13
    38
    Nanty Glo, PA
    you have the galaxy note, correct? if so just follow the steps on briefmobile and download and install =D
     
  3. th3goob

    th3goob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    185
    13
    38
    Nanty Glo, PA
    Yup, there is absolutely no difference, and you could do what the samsung guy told you, or you could download it from kies(yet to be determined whether its OTA) and install it.
     
    hajimeabc likes this.
  4. hajimeabc

    hajimeabc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012

    Apr 20, 2012
    225
    5
    36
    How come Samsung does not release one ICS for all the users worldwide? I heard that Samsung Canada released the ICS few days ago. Users in Taiwan can also get the ICS. As for users in Hong Kong, they are still waiting. Samsung HK said that they are debugging. Why different countries have different release dates? Is there anything to do with the carrier? If I buy the Galaxy Note in one country and upgrade the ICS by myself, will I encounter compatibility problems using the device in other countries? As I live in different countries, I wonder if I should get the iPhone 4S (a world phone) instead.
     
  5. esj1940

    esj1940 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012

    Mar 28, 2012
    9
    2
    6
    With this upgrade is the Note still unrooted or will I have to root it to have a rooted ICS Note?
     
  6. aggie87

    aggie87 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012

    Mar 15, 2012
    47
    7
    16
    You have to flash CWM and Superuser with Odin after to be rooted.
     
    th3goob likes this.
  7. th3goob

    th3goob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    185
    13
    38
    Nanty Glo, PA
    Different hardware is a little bit of a problem, but its most ATT added so many bloatware onto the phone that it bogs it down, and going from one country to another isnt a problem, the note can be activated on multiple networks as long as its the same frequency as the one you want to put it on, just make sure its unlocked and your GTG.
     
  8. mntbighker

    mntbighker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    189
    9
    36
    SysAdmin
    Silicon Valley
    Has anyone who installed ICS on the AT&T Note tried to see if they get NFC capability? I checked, and the battery definitely does not have the antenna embedded like my Nexus did. But the phone is probably big enough to have the antenna someplace else. I thought I read the other versions of the Note have NFC in the battery like the Nexus so the AT&T folks probably get screwed out of NFC stuff like Google Wallet :-(
     
  9. aggie87

    aggie87 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012

    Mar 15, 2012
    47
    7
    16
    The NFC antenna is on the back of the Note. It's a silverish rectangle that you'll see if you take off the backing.
     
  10. ndfan4u

    ndfan4u Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    223
    10
    38
    Los Angeles
    Never mind, I found the solution on my own. My AT&T Note is running on TMobile 4G speeds. Whooohoooo....:thumbup:
     
  11. mntbighker

    mntbighker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    189
    9
    36
    SysAdmin
    Silicon Valley
    So back to original question.. has anyone tried NFC after going to ICS? I don't think you get NFC until you go to ICS.
     
  12. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    248
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    You can get NFC on GB, just need to do tweaks to the build.prop to activate. Now, to use Google Wallet, you have to set you device to a Galaxy Nexus which, I think, causes other issues along the way, best to check out XDA for this one.
     
  13. TheGeek

    TheGeek Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    268
    30
    43
    West Chester, PA
    I'm doing this -- god I hope this works.

    I am basically following the instructions on that link from the OP.

    I'm assuming I don't need to root/flash/or whatever; just follow the instructions and it does it's thing.
     
  14. th3goob

    th3goob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    185
    13
    38
    Nanty Glo, PA
    If you need any help let me know.
     
  15. th3goob

    th3goob Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    185
    13
    38
    Nanty Glo, PA
    NFC does in fact work.
     
  16. TheGeek

    TheGeek Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    268
    30
    43
    West Chester, PA
  17. TheGeek

    TheGeek Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    268
    30
    43
    West Chester, PA
    I take that back!

    I found the latest APK; I was running the old version that was on my Gingerbread--I now have visual voicemail.

    The only issue I can see is a bit of hesitation and really my exchange.

    In regards to my exchange; if I click the little down arrow next to the sender which typically will show you who else it was address to and your address--it locks and crashes.

    Once, it wouldn't load my emails when I clicked on it. It was as if it was downloading it from the server--I did a reboot and it hasn't happened again.
     
  18. TheGeek

    TheGeek Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    268
    30
    43
    West Chester, PA
    I couldn't take it -- I flashed back to Gingerbread.

    Exchange is my life line -- it's what I need the most and it just kept crashing on me LOL.
     
  19. mntbighker

    mntbighker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    189
    9
    36
    SysAdmin
    Silicon Valley
    Yep, I depend heavily on Exchange mail too.
     
  20. TheGeek

    TheGeek Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    268
    30
    43
    West Chester, PA
    Yep.

    Hopefully it will work in the official release--the new mail app is freaking awesome.
     

Share This Page

Loading...