• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

New ICS version released

I'm still learning all this. What can flashing just the KP4 Modem offer?

That aside, it seems it will be full of bugs.

Its hard to say until I actually try it as the effectiveness of modems depends on your network and location. So its hard to say if it will be an improvement until you've tried it. But I'm hoping it will improve my signal and upload/download speed. Other people have reported a big improvement in speeds on the last two modems (KL1 and KP1) but they didn't work for me on 3 uk. So I've been using quite an old one as it provides the best combination of speed and battery. So I'm hoping this one can give me the extra speed without draining my battery like the last two.

Upvote 0
installed it now. seems okay but wifi takes forever to connect, keeps it fine once established.

has restarted a few times without any reason. Strangely no firmware replacement buttons at the bottom of the screen, take it samsung took these out.

A couple of things bugging me:

1. face unlock cannot start - any ideas anybody? EDIT - pulled down the CM9 zip, and used the faceunlock from there applied to official ROM, this has fixed face unlock for me, and also strangely solved the inability to switch off or restart I mentioned below.

2. notification bar has notification to setup automatic update. cannot 'clear' this notification, and when try to set it up it says that it has failed. EDIT - has now accepted setup, but will connect to server for update, so thinking this may be a sporadic server issue at present, and not a phone issue.

I think for now I will be going back to checkrom v4.0 until a more stable version is released. going to try to nab the browser from here as love the sync with chrome. if anybody has fathomed how to do this please share.