1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

New Line

Discussion in 'Verizon' started by Tee312, Dec 12, 2011.

  1. Tee312

    Tee312 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011

    Dec 12, 2011
    11
    6
    16
    Hey all! Wasn't quite sure where to post this, but I figured since it was Nexus related I would post here.

    When the Nexus is released (hopefully Thursday!!) I'm opening a new line for a family member under my account and getting the Nexus, then going to switch my Thunderbolt for the Nexus, since they don't mind either way. The thing is, my Thunderbolt is rooted. Would you recommend me unrooting the device before I have it switched over? Or would it not matter?

    I want it to be rooted because it's ridiculous faster without sense, so that means i'd have to unroot, have it switched, then root it again -.-
     

    Advertisement

  2. jason2302

    jason2302 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    I'm doing the same thing. It won't matter at all, unless there's a custom ROM on it. That might cause problems with activating it on a new line.
     
  3. Tee312

    Tee312 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011

    Dec 12, 2011
    11
    6
    16
    Hmm, I do have Cyanogen on it, but I can easily switch it back to stock. Now I just have to find the latest Thunderbolt drivers/files.

    EDIT: Are you doing it in-store or through MyVerizon? I was told I have to go into the store because of the sim card.
     
  4. jason2302

    jason2302 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Yeah, it needs to be done in the store. But only a corporate VZW store because they give SIM cards for free. It's a complicated process to explain.

    And yes, you will need to switch back to stock. CM7 will give you problems.
     
  5. Tee312

    Tee312 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011

    Dec 12, 2011
    11
    6
    16
    I can easily switch back to stock, but does it matter if I relock the bootloader? I did it through Revolution being lazy, and the bootloader is annoying to relock. If I take it in with normal stock gingerbread w/ sense, will they have any issues?
     
  6. Tee312

    Tee312 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011

    Dec 12, 2011
    11
    6
    16
    So I reinstalled official OTA Gingerbread, it "looks" like it was never rooted, however, it still has S-Off/Root. Do you think they will say anything if I go in to have it switched to another line? It has official software on it, I just don't want to go back to S-On because it requires several commands through ADB (Used Revolutionary to root) and I don't want to go through that if I don't have to.

    I guess what I'm asking is if S-Off/Root will affect the activation process.
     
  7. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I wouldn't think S-off will affect the activation process. S-off just means you can flash any file in hboot which shouldn't be required for activation.
     
  8. timelord65

    timelord65 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011

    Nov 24, 2011
    396
    41
    43
    Rooting the phone won't effect its activation at all, nor will a custom rom
     

Share This Page

Loading...