1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

New market

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by oxfordmark, Dec 9, 2010.

  1. oxfordmark

    oxfordmark Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    72
    1
    16
    Anyone else got the new style market?
     

    Advertisement

  2. CureMS

    CureMS Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    106
    20
    58
    Housing Counselor/Consultant
    NJ
    I just got it yesterday. On TMO in NJ.
     
  3. Trollatoppan

    Trollatoppan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    155
    14
    38
    What exactly are you referring to?
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    Now when you view an app in the market you have a new 'Similar' tab, besides the download and comments tab we already had.
     
  5. Trollatoppan

    Trollatoppan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    155
    14
    38
    Oh ok. Haven't we all "got that"? Mine is that way.
    I thought he mean a new Market app.
     
  6. TheBrit

    TheBrit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,188
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009

    Aug 25, 2009
    1,188
    114
    143
    UK
    Hmmm...when did that happen? Where did those tabs come from? :)

    Mine has a 'Related' tab rather than 'Similar' but it seems to do the same thing.
     
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    Or did you mean this new market?


    [​IMG]
     
  8. mitzumr

    mitzumr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    I've downloaded it last night...but when i tried to install it, it said " package problems".....they say all devices 1.6 and up will get it...

    Anyone managed to get it up and running on their Hero's?
     
  9. peterc10

    peterc10 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    711
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    711
    80
    78
    UK
    So exactly how do you get this new market please? I have a UK Orange Hero running stock 2.1. At the moment the market looks the same as it has since I upgraded to 2.1, and certainly not like the one Xyro posted.
     
  10. 40nintendo

    40nintendo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    69
    1
    16
    i am on froyvillan will i get it
     
  11. Trollatoppan

    Trollatoppan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    155
    14
    38
    Well I got it automatically. I didn't download anything myself.
     
  12. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    Supposedly it's being pushed out randomly over the next few weeks.

    There is a flashable version for custom roms, but it seems to crash constantly for a lot of people.
     
  13. peterc10

    peterc10 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    711
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    711
    80
    78
    UK
    Thanks for this info. Will it come OTA as a firmware upgrade or downloadable via some other way?
     
  14. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    Nothing I've read about it goes into much detail about how it will get to our phones, but this is all google's work, not HTC's. So it's not a firmware update. I think it may come through the market (even though that sounds a bit counter-intuitive), since that's how they update every other google app.
     
    peterc10 likes this.
  15. Trollatoppan

    Trollatoppan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    155
    14
    38
    Yup, as I said earlier. Mine auto-installed. It didn't ask for anything. It just updated itself. I remeber when I started the Market it took around 30-40 second to start after the "update".
     
  16. The0Code

    The0Code Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    100
    1
    36
    So running on VR12, it won't be pushed to me? o_o
     
  17. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    I just meant that if you're impatient you can try the flashable version :p (Although it's pretty unstable).

    Custom ROMs should get it too, as far as I'm aware.
     
  18. walkinhotdog

    walkinhotdog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    122
    6
    36
    USA
    Yep i got mine automatically one random day last week
     
  19. mattdanielc

    mattdanielc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    272
    63
    53
    Peasant
    England
    Mine changed yesterday - no idea when exactly - but opened the marketplace and it had changed automatically mate
     
  20. topcorner

    topcorner Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    45
    0
    15
    I have VR12 and I got the new market automatically! :)
     
  21. The0Code

    The0Code Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    100
    1
    36
    I didn't get it still :(

    Edit: I just turned my phone on and off and got it :D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...