1. Check out our companion app, Forums for Android! Download from Google Play

Support New Note 2 black box with text on main screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by alexb123a, Dec 25, 2012.

  1. alexb123a

    alexb123a Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    16

    Sep 30, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    Hi All,

    Loving the new S3 but there is a black box with system information text on the main screen and I don't know how to get rid of it.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    3,118

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,248
    21,552
    3,118
    Male
    N/W Indiana
    Can you take a SS of it and post it back here or tell us what is says? And is it always there even after a reboot? Can you long press on it and drag it to the trash?
     
  3. alexb123a

    alexb123a Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    16

    Sep 30, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    Hi Thanks :) Tried all of those and nothing, I think its in factory mode and thats what it says when it boots. And the text is all kinds of tech info like, PDA Number, Camera numbers and all sorts.
     
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    3,118

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,248
    21,552
    3,118
    Male
    N/W Indiana
    Did this just happen at random? Perhaps pull the battery and remove then reinsert the sim card?
     
  5. GTWalling

    GTWalling Well-Known Member
    163

    Sep 9, 2012
    1,277
    412
    163
    Alabama USA
    Go into Setting/Developer options and uncheck Show CPU usage.
     
    Mikestony and hippiegang like this.
  6. alexb123a

    alexb123a Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    16

    Sep 30, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    Thank you. But these ideas are not working.

    The list is as follows:

    PDA: *they are all followed by numbers*
    Phone:
    CSC:
    H/W:
    RF Cal Date:

    and so on.

    ANy ideas :)
     
  7. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    3,118

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,248
    21,552
    3,118
    Male
    N/W Indiana
    hmmmm, I am not sure. Don't suppose you can post a screenshot can you?
    Is it on your other screens also or just one screen? Or can you not get past that?
    Can you factory reset?
     
  8. alexb123a

    alexb123a Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    16

    Sep 30, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    Here is the screen shot, hope it works. Its only on the main screen and will only go when I run an application. But it will still be on the main screen when I close the application.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  9. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member
    1,123

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Factory mode? Uh oh. This usually means hardware or more likely, EFS folder problem.

    Are you technical?
    Did you root/manually upgrade?

    If the answer to those questions is no, contact the carrier / samsung / place you bought it and ask for them to look at it. That includes if you have received an OTA update.

    If you did root, it can be fixed but DONT root to fix the issue as its better to return it.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member
    1,123

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
  11. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    3,118

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,248
    21,552
    3,118
    Male
    N/W Indiana
    @SUroot--what is the EFS folder?
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member
    1,123

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    This is not an S3. This is a Note 2.
     
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member
    1,123

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Let's just say its a crucial part of samsung android devices that stores crucial data that the phone needs to operate. FactoryMode also contained here. Usually caused by a bad flash.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  14. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    3,118

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,248
    21,552
    3,118
    Male
    N/W Indiana
    oo, good catch there SUroot!

    @op, would you like me to move this entire thread to the Note 2 forum?
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member
    1,123

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Lets double check. The information displayed is from efs but it could be OP accidentally flashed note 2 firmware on the s3. Unfortunately the photo doesn't show much of the device so we cannot ascertain this yet
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  16. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    3,118

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,248
    21,552
    3,118
    Male
    N/W Indiana
    okee dokee, ...thanks SU:)
     
  17. alexb123a

    alexb123a Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    16

    Sep 30, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    Hi Very sorry yes this is a Note 2, note an S3 :(
     
    Mikestony and SUroot like this.
  18. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member
    1,123

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Ok.

    So this will need to be moved to the note 2 forum.

    The folks there will still need to know the answers to my questions though. Whether you updated it rooted or if it just happened
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  19. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    3,118

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,248
    21,552
    3,118
    Male
    N/W Indiana
    Moved! :)
    Hopefully your issue will get resolved here:) Good luck Alex!
     
  20. alexb123a

    alexb123a Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    16

    Sep 30, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    Thanks

    Mike :)
     
  21. nabil180

    nabil180 New Member
    5

    Jul 19, 2015
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    I 2 suffering from same problem i m using note 2 can u plz explain me the steps for fixing it ??
     

Share This Page

Loading...